Help organise our centre that works around enviroment, arts, education and culture in Mosquera, a municipality near to Bogotá, Colombia



Favourited 42 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are a social-comunitary organization that works around enviroment, arts, education and culture. It is located in Mosquera, a municipality near to Bogotá, Colombia.
    Through diverse projects and activities it proposes a diverse cultural and pedagogical offer available to the people of the municipality of Mosquera.
    We seek to demonstrate and enable the multiple capacities, abilities and tastes with which we count and their potential enhanced in sharing.
    Some of the activities we do are: reading circles, conversation clubs, weavng workshops, and cultural events like painting, photography and musical exhibitions.
    So we would like recive people that feel interest for new pedagogical ways, that maybe coud offer a workshop of some art, or someone that could help to make of this place a better place for others. :)
    We would like to have your help!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Art Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Well we are located in the center of the municipality and this is a quiet place growing due to its proximity to Bogotá, so You can have rest in a quiet place and also be near to the movement of the city. And well, the added value of the experience is given by the work that we do here, the fact of working with the community and its different population groups: children, young, adults, will be what really will enrich your experience here.
    So welcome!

  • Help


    Like physical space we have four places: the first one is for the articulation of productive proposals, its like a little store that wants to support local ventures and also that coud help to support economically the house. The secound is called "the meeting corner with the book" that seeks to promote reading, and also is the place for pedagogical meetings. A third one is the "arts room" in wich we offer arts workshops and we do painting, photography and musical exhibitions. And the last space It's projected as the green space of the house, we seek to consolidate a vertical garden. So your help could be in any of these aspects, for example, You can help to organize the place to make it better, more enjoyable for other people, or you can help us with the reading circles or another proposals to promote reading, or proposing workshops of different types mainly with an alternative pedagogical approach that allows the participants to enjoy the experience and learn different things. Also You can help with the conversation clubs. Or You can help us with the project of vertical garden.
    So those are the main tasks that we carry out in this place and you could help us. :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    About staying and sleeping: We have a simple room that has a bed and a wardrobe, in front of this is the bathroom that has a toilet and shower, it's very important to care and clean this bathroom because it's accessed by people who attend the offer from the house-workshop.
    About food: We have a kitchen so We can prepare food together or if you prefer you can prepare your own food, we can agree that.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a quiet place, so the main plans can be: go for a walk, get to know the local cultural offer, go for a beer or a coffee in the nearby places. Visit other nearby municipalities such as Madrid or Faca; Madrid has an interesting gastronomic offer in desserts and Faca has a place of environmental and patrimonial wealth called "las piedras del Tunjo" so, those are the main plans that we can suggest on your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 156848178347