Stone house renovation in the Charente France

Country

Spain

Favourited 31 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/06/2018

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our 50'sandcl60's who have a house and barns in a very rural part of France. We are half an hour by car from Angouleme and one hour from Cognac or Limoges.
    We have owned this property for four years and are on the way to setting up a creative centre around Metalworking from jewellery throughfurniture to casting in bronze and Architectural fitiings. Currently we have completed most of the large scale work and are constructind internal walls and electrical wirng, pointing and some stonework.
    This area of France is very rural and beautifull with ancient towns full of old stone buildings with deep cultural roots.
    Angouleme nearby has taken a graphic arts focus and has creative courses in design and a graphic novel festival every year. Further afield we have Limoges with its historical ceramics focus and Bordeaux city of wine is 1.5 hours by car or train south of us.
    Our Village is Luxé quiet but connected by train to Angouleme and and Poitiers sitting near the Charente river, great for swimming and in the summer, and also for canoeing and fishing though we are not equipped to do that. The rolling countryside is great for walking and cycling.
    The house has power and most facilities but is basic with walls unfinished and floors still being tiled

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    All sorts of practical experience but also about French life and the plates and others listed above.

  • Help

    Help

    We are building from tiling and pointing to stonework and putting in beams and flooring.We have a solar heating system to install before the autumn and are installing wiring and plumbing as we go.
    All facilities are relocating inclouding kitchen and bathroom.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, some Spanish and a little German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have several beds and spaces that can be used for sleeping but they are all currently unfinished in varying aspects. We have a fully functioning bathroom kitchen and washing machine but the same applies in terms of finish!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Walking ,cycling ,swimming Canoeing available nearby also fishing but you would need equipment and to buy a license. Travel by train to Angouleme and Poitiers and smaller turns in between and obviously the rest of France.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 153994629858