Busy happy family on genuine Australian farm (in Queensland)

Country

Australia

Favourited 101 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family live on a large farm 40km from our nearest town of GOONDIWINDI, Queensland. We have cattle, sheep, cropping and horses. We are 4 hours inland from Brisbane, on NSW border. Life is busy with the farm, 8 year old twin girls, a large and lovely house and garden and animals so lots to look after! We love to entertain friends as well.

    If you would like to experience life on a real Australian farm with a happy and busy family, we would welcome the extra hands around. We would particularly be happy to host someone who can help the girls with their ponies and riding as we don’t always have the time.

    We have hosted 8 workaway visitors over the past 6 years which has been a great experience and have contact with all.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life on a large operating Australian farm and lots of Australian nature and wildlife to experience.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The help you give us is flexible depending on your skills, experience and likes. There is farm work and domestic work.
    Help is appreciated with the children of course, however they are at school. There is opportunity to ride horses for anyone who is a keen rider - and help girls on their ponies.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom and bathroom in our house or separate self contained cottage

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On their time off volunteers can enjoy experiencing the Australian outback, the unique Australian bush and native animals, and typical life on an large operating farm. Transport is available to spend time in the vibrant local town and attend any events happening. There is a great pub 5km away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day



Host ref number: 148423997984