Carpentry and gardening help wanted! Join a melting pot of many cultures - The Caribbean, Virgin Islands (U.S.)

Country

Virgin Islands (U.S.)

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/05/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have 2 homes on the island of St. John in the U.S.Virgin Islands. We are healthy 64 & 74 year olds who can no longer work like were 40. Hurricane Irma didn't destroy everything but is kicking our A*️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️!ses with the recovery. We have lived here full time for over 40 + years and still love it. Les, built a 34 ft. wooden schooner and we sailed her engineless for 40 years until a freak storm came and took her 7 years ago. Mary has done just about everything from restaurant work, managing 10 vacation rental homes, working with NGO's, buying for retail shops, and, and.......We are both artists and live our lives holistically, treading lightly upon Mother Earth. We also built our own home and bought a second home 5 yers ago for our retirement when we can no longer negotiate the 50 steps down to "home" on East End. We use our 2nd home "Fiddlewood Cottage" VRBO #654778 now for vacation rentals. St. John is a VERY special place in the Caribbean and we feel so blessed to have been able to make our lives work here.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Caribbean is a melting pot of many cultures. The Virgin Islands are beautiful, and especially on St. John, where 2/3rds of the island is National Park. Gorgeous beaches, all types of water sports, hiking, exploring and easy access to the British Virgin Islands plus the small town feeling is why we still LOVE living here. Every island culture is unique and different so lots to experience with the "island life".

  • Help

    Help

    We require English speaking, hard working, kind, patient, individuals who can follow directions and are willing to share ideas. Skills in carpentry and gardening a MUST. We are clearing and building small platforms for tents on the additional 1/3rd acre. We also need help at our home with hurricane recovery and general maintenance. We only work in the early mornings from 7AM-12 Noon outside because of the hot, tropical sun, or after sun set for a couple of hours in the evenings.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English only

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two rental cottages on the property. Fiddlewood is the main house and the Love Shack is a stand alone efficiency. Starting May 2020, we are going to test the waters renting both out separately. We ask that you respect the privacy of those paying guests in the main house and only socialize when they initiate. Otherwise you are very quiet and keep to yourself.

    Electricity, wifi, outside solar shower, toilet, small fridge, microwave, toaster oven, sheets and towels, coin operated laundry facilities, dried fruits, dried vegetables, beans. rice, and basic staples are provided. Some fresh food growing on the property like papaya, fresh herbs, some seasonal vegetables and Morenga are for you to enjoy. It is not easy to grow food here and until we get a small green house, we grow what requires little water. Because we live 20 minutes away, when possible we will share meals together.

    We depend on rain for our water and use cisterns for storage. 5,000 gals. desalinated water delivered costs $500 and the taste is..... You will have a 150 gal. cistern of sediment filtered water for bathing and dishwashing, plus filtered drinking water. Needless to say water is precious here so we ask that you respect this and don't waste. All dish/bathwater is recycled for plants.

    If you choose to drink liquor, we ask you don't abuse it. Smoking cigarettes is allowed but only outdoors, not inside house or tents. We make all provisions for your safety and will have you sign waiver exempting us from any accidental injuries that might occur. There will be a first aid kit provided for minor injuries. It is a VERY quiet neighborhood so we ask you keep music and any other activities inaudible. You are on the shores of Mandahl Pond, in a valley where sound travels very easily. You are walking distance to amazing beaches and snorkeling.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are walking distance to the end of the bus line. Hitchhiking is an acceptable means of island transportation. The closest town is Coral Bay, an 8 minute drive for groceries restaurants, and some retail shopping. The main town, Cruz Bay where the ferry comes in and busses leave from is 35 minutes away. There are ferries you can take to visit the BVI's from Cruz Bay also. Bicycling is not recommended because the roads are too narrow and dangerous. Beaches, swimming, snorkeling and hiking everywhere as soon as you walk out the door. It is a VERY quiet and peaceful neighborhood and we respect each others privacy.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 147128545413