Help us us transform our land into a digital ecovillage in Jardín, colombia

Country

Colombia

Favourited 570 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    51  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    273

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Do you love nature?
    Are you pursuing a plant-based diet?
    Are you working remotely but tired of being confined to the big city because it's hard to find good wifi in smaller towns or in nature?
    Are you a hard-working individual?
    Do you crave a detox in a drug-free environment?

    If you answered yes to most or all of these, then you are a great match for our project!


    Our vision:

    A digital ecovillage. Or a D-ecovillage. A place where you have the best of both worlds. A co-working space with a gorgeous view of the Northern Andes blanketed by green. A space that is passionate about living in harmony with the earth through veganism, permaculture design, and eco-construction.

    More and more people are opting to work remotely because it allows for location-independent freedom. The only restricting factor is that location must have reliable wifi. You become slightly restricted and end up spending less time immersed in nature, and more time immersed in crowded hostels and coffee shops. These have their charm as well, but we know they can get old.

    Our progress thus far:
    We have gotten to a point where the land is finally livable for volunteers.

    There is a fully functional kitchen, bathroom, and outdoor shower with hot water.
    The main cabin with the kitchen and bathroom is still in the making. There is a lot of construction material but it is separated from the functional spaces. during the hours between 8-4 on the weekdays, there is a construction team finishing the cabins. They provide interesting insights on Jardin and are great to practice Spanish with!

    We also are making strides in the garden, creating a home for our beautiful plants one bed at a time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Interact with the local staff, improve your Spanish. Share great vegan recipes; learn about flora and fauna. Learn about coffee farming, processing and roasting. Meet, interact and network with digital nomads from all over the world and enjoy a beautiful natural setting in the Andes mountains of Colombia. We have bicycles for you to get around.

  • Help

    Help

    How you can help:
    We love IDEAS! Whether they are backed by skill, experience, or conceptual creativity, your ideas are welcome here. This is a collective project, and the more diverse array of input we get, the better.

    That being said, the main areas that we need help right now are in the garden and small construction projects. So if you have experience working in these, great! If not, let's learn about them together! We want to incorporate art and love into every project, so we can prove to mother nature that we strive to take care of her just like she takes care of us.

    What your days will look like:
    We require 20 hours per week over a 3 day period. You can opt to split it up however you like.

    This means you will have 3 days working, and 4 free days to enjoy Jardín.

    DURING WORKING DAYS:
    -you will stay on the land in a tent with a mattress provided. (The land is 3km from the village)
    -3 VEGAN meals are provided

    DURING FREE DAYS:
    -you will stay at the owners' home in the village in a shared room with bunkbeds
    -you are only provided BREAKFAST
    -all other meals you buy/prepare yourself
    -NO ANIMAL PRODUCTS ALLOWED IN THE HOUSE OR AT THE LAND. If you are using our facilities, please keep it vegan.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private camping tent or bunk bed setting,
    breakfast every day, lunch and dinner 3 days a week

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Volunteers be tolerant of or love animals and be willing to commit to a 2-week minimum stay. During your time off, you can enjoy the surrounding natural beauty (there are many waterfalls and rivers) or spend time at the village; the locals are very warm and welcoming. There are many vegan and vegetarian options in the town! Other volunteers who have been here longer can show you all the good hiking and food spots. We have 5 full time dogs and 2 cats.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours per week, divided between 3 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

































Host ref number: 146554989257