Volunteer at a home stay in the foothills of Uttarakhand, India.

Country

India

Favourited 143 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1689

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  • Description

    Description

    I run a small eco friendly home stay. There is very little cement used and the wood is also recycled.
    Aashraya is located about 45 km from Rishikesh off the Badrinath road. About 3 km from Kodyala there will be a small shack. If you are coming by bus - say - Mahadev Chatti.
    Follow the 2.5 km walking path towards the bridge across Ganga. At the end of the bridge take a left turn on the old walking route to Badrinath.
    It is in the middle of nowhere and we have just got electricity but no road.
    We have an organic farm attached to the house.
    I trek and cycle a lot, also write guide books. Trekking in western himalaya - depi chaudhry by Collins.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Art Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    We have a couple of staffers living adjacent to the place. It is not a high traffic place and have occasional visitors. The kitchen is fairly well stocked. The staff can cook a very basic Indian meal. But you are welcome to cook your own meals too.
    We are looking for the following help.

    1. Construction help - carpenter
    2. Gardening
    3. Teaching us to make - candles / soaps
    4. If you are an Artist - you could make a large painting on the roof, so that it can be seen from the road.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hindi: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have created accommodation for workaway volunteers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty to do there - lovely day hikes, river beaches, waterfall ......

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    We are flexible on days it could be less and more on other days.



Host ref number: 146446493825