Help us get started on our small organic farm and learn about gardening near Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are starting an organic farm on our newly purchased property near Regina, Saskatchewan. The farm is 150 acres with woods, a large pond, and open fields. We are a family of 4, with 2 kids aged 8 and 3.

    This year we are getting started with a layer hen flock, veggie garden, shelterbelt and berry plantings, biodiesel plant, and lots of projects around the house and farm.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about organic farming and gardening from someone with 10 years experience in the field. They will visit a part of Canada that is often looked past but is beautiful and full of great people. The farm is also bit of a time capsule, with lots of 50+ yr old buildings and equipment, for those interested in that kind of thing. Our farm is also a great wildlife spot with woods, a large pond/wetland, and diverse habitats.

  • Help

    Help

    Lots of outdoor garden and planting work to be done! Planting, weeding, harvesting (and of course, eating!). Livestock chores, fencing, and pasture work like mowing thistles, too. If you like to cook, we will have excellent ingredients.

    There are lots of old buildings in need of work on the farm, so experience in construction would be very helpful.

    Our kids have always loved hanging out with farm helpers, Workawayers, etc. so if you like kids, well, ours will probably love you. The 8 y/o is in French Immersion and would greatly benefit from French conversations during the summer, since we don't speak it (though one of us has OK Spanish proficiency and could use some work there!).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Our daughter is a Grade 4 French Immersion student. Adam learned Spanish in high school and was proficient in the past, but hasn't used Spanish in a long time and could use the practice. We all speak English as a first language.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will have available a camper/trailer (to be purchased), and 2 tents (one large, one small) that can be borrowed. Guests are also welcome to bring their own accommodation (camper, van, tent, etc) and we can find a spot for it.

    Guests can use house laundry, kitchen, and washroom.

    Meals: We can provide bulk food (like rolled oats, flour, beans). Breakfasts will usually be prepare-your-own, lunches shared among whoever is around, with cooking done on a rotating basis, dinners vary from shared to prepare-your-own depending on guests, time of year, and daily circumstances. Eggs, veggies, and whatever else is growing on the farm will be available to guests.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 40 km from Regina (Saskatchewan's capital city, population ~200k) and 8 km from Balgonie, a small town of ~1000 with library, grocery store, restaurant, and post office. The scenic Qu'appelle Valley lies about 15 km north.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Can plug in to 110V and fill water tanks (no permanent water hookup).

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 145498232613