Come experience the culture of rural New Hampshire, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 100 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2021

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a slice of heaven in the foot hills of the White Mountains in New Hampshire. Our small country town is off the beaten path with two convenience stores and a wonderful Library. We live four mile down a dirt road on 15 acres of mostly wooded land. We have some hiking trails and lots of wild life visiting daily. On the north face of a mountain we tend organic flower beds and an organic vegetable garden. We are a young at heart 60 year old couple who loves nature. We love gardening and we grow most of our vegetables on our property. My husband is a graphic design artist who works from home, and I am a retired nurse. We both love art and I often spend time drawing, painting and or knitting. We would love to share our home with you and introduce you to rural New Hampshire. In exchange we would also love to learn more about where you come from. I have chronic health issues and do to my spinal disability I need to rest often, so I need someone who can be independent. Its pretty quiet living here so you must be able to enjoy the simple aspects of life.

    My vision is to create a sustainable forest farm in the foot hills of the White Mountains. We have 2 dogs. Just as a warning there are a lot of black flies mid May to early June.

    In exchange for 4-5 hrs of work a day 4 days a week. We will provide a private bedroom with bathroom plus shared meals. We live off the beaten path, on a dirt road 4 miles from the nearest store. There are plenty of hiking trails in the area. We are located near many small lakes that are great for swimming and kayaking. We have a bike and kayak for you to use. We are close to the Appalachian trail, Dartmouth College, and the White Mountains. There is a bus that travels to Boston or New York that with prior arrangements we can transport you to the bus. There is also a local bus that takes you to near by towns.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to experience a quite life in rural NH . Get a taste of our home grown food and cooking. Visit with extended family , Our son and daughter in law and two adorable grandchildren 30 mins away who live on a small farm with animals and gardens. You also can visit Dartmouth College, take a bus ride to Boston(2.5hours away), or New York City (7 hours away) .

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for 4-5 hrs worth of work a day (although we are flexible) We need help with Gardening, cooking, general maintenance and various projects on our property. We would like to build some more garden beds this spring. We also have some land clearing visions. Tasks include, garden maintenance, trail maintenance etc.. Most be able to be independent, self motivated and also content with quiet rural life.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a single family home set in an opening in the forest. You will have a private room with a separate entrance , away from the main living area so it will feels like your own space, with a private bathroom. Our Main living area is upstairs in a large great room with a fireplace and large windows with views of the mountains and our gardens. We will share the kitchen and our meals. We have a large deck that is off the kitchen that is private and surrounded by trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As posted above there is a bus that we can pick you up from and drop you off at. There is a bike you can use and kayak. We live 2 miles from a cool spring fed lake. We can drive you to some activities within reason. We also live by Cardigan Mountain, Dartmouth Collage, and the white mountains and lots of lakes!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 134494597932