Clearing, strimming, tidying garden, assisting with plumbing, house decoration and some cooking in the beautiful countryside of the Dordogne valley, France



Favourited 134 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi, we are an English / Dutch couple who live the Dordogne River valley in Lot, SW France. We live in a converted barn with extensive grounds, which take up most of our time, needing ongoing maintenance. We have bought another property nearby and it is here we need to enlist your help for most of your stay! We are friendly, and pretty easy to get along with we are told.

    We are looking for enthusiastic workawayers to help us get the property shipshape and to help us with some projects. So if you are looking for a stay in this delightful area, then this might be it!! We have gardening, rubble clearance hard landscaping, and general outside maintenance work as well as helping with plumbing and decoration in the house.

    The area in which we live is rural, with the nearest market town (bars and restaurants, plus usual amenities) being around 3kms away. One bicycle!! We are close to many of the Plus Beaux Villages de France which are historic and some medieval in origin. The river Dordogne is just fifteen minutes drive from here and is great for canoeing, swimming and picnicing. We will happily take you to see some of these places as they are not to be missed - or you can take the bike or your own transport!!

    We are in the midst of a farming community and our neighbours are friendly and welcoming for they love their countryside. We have a mixture of friends - French, English, Dutch, American, German, South African and Australian - and meals can be noisy and fun when people drop by........ !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have lived in the UK, South Africa and now in France and will happily share our experiences with you. Although we speak English as our first language, we both have a basic grasp of French and Peter's mother tongue is Dutch. Peter was an actor and a carpenter before retiring here, where, together with Jennie, he has renovated not just the old farmhouse (which we recently sold) but also completed the conversion of the barn into our home, so we are able to share our knowledge with you.

    Over the course of the five years with Workaway as hosts, we have met many people of all ages and from many countries. Each has given us so much enjoyment and shared so much of their lives and different cultures. We are still in touch with most of them and some have returned for repeat visits! Volunteers who met here are still in touch with each other too - one couple are now married after meeting here.

    This is a beautiful part of France with much history. We hope you will share it with us.

  • Help


    You will be part of the family so help with meals, clearing up and keeping your room clean and tidy is all part of it!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch and basic standard French

  • Accommodation


    You will have your room here at the converted barn with use of the living room, kitchen etc - oh and your own shower room and loo. Or if you want to pitch a tent, there is plenty of room. Free wifi. Couple very welcome.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We usually take our volunteers to a couple of places of interest like Rocamadour, Turenne, Collonges La Rouge, the caves, to canoe on the Dorgogne in the warmer months, even to vide greniers (check those out on the internet!) and there is a bicycle that can be used if you don't fancy a walk to the nearest shops! Brive La Gaillarde and Souillac are served well with trains and buses from all over France and beyond. We are happy to collect workawayers from either town. Many previous volunteers have used BlaBla Car to get about.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Four to five hours per day - weekends are usually free but this may change but another day will be free instead)

Host ref number: 129221321484