Tree House in the Nook needs help in the garden near Parua Bay, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/04/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our beautiful Tree House is set in a commanding location near Parua Bay (Whangarei Heads) with water views from every window. It's just the two of us living here so we need help with gardening and other jobs around the house as it can get overwhelming.
    Philip is a retired engineer who likes fixing things and Anastasia is an artist trying to chip away time from garden and house work for her creative pursuits. She also recently broke her leg and can not do a lot of things while it is healing. We are looking for interesting people to exchange ideas, have deep conversations with and who can help around the house and garden.
    We are both vegan, we love good food and we love animals. Anastasia likes to experiment in the kitchen. We also like to go sailing, travel a lot and learn new things.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a well traveled Australian-Estonian couple who like to keep up to date with current events, learn new things and challenge our perceptions. We care deeply about the environment, animal welfare and many other social issues and try to live in harmony with our values. We love meeting new people and discussing ideas in depth. We are both experts in our respective fields and don't mind sharing our experiences and knowledge with those who are curious to learn more.
    For those interested in outdoor activities there are many sights, hikes and walking trails nearby. A beautiful secluded beach is a stone throw away from the house and a dramatic ocean beach a short drive away.

  • Help

    Help

    The main area we need help in is the garden: weeding, trimming, planting, mulching. Also some landscaping - help with making paths and fixing retaining walls.
    Work around the house: help with cooking and cleaning would be greatly appreciated.
    We are also open to propositions from people with knowledge and initiative for any improvements.
    We have a sailboat that needs occasional work as well and are happy to accept help on it in exchange for some sailing trips.
    We love guests who have curiosity and who take initiative, this is the most important aspect for us.

    UPDATE: Currently need help with cleaning, cooking, weeding and watering the garden, sanding furniture to prep for painting. Need someone who is tidy, can work independently without supervision, can cook vegan food, has some experience with sanding and painting (or quick learner). Ideally would need someone who has a car.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Estonian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation we offer our guests is clean, freshly renovated and private. Guest bedroom, bathroom and sitting area is located on the lower level of the house with its own private entrance.
    The main living area and kitchen are on the middle level. We ask our guests to respect our vegan/vegetarian household and also to help with cooking every once in a while. Any kind of initiative when it comes to sharing recipes or baked goods is highly valued.
    We also have a piano and a ukulele so playing an instrument is always a bonus.
    Unfortunately we don't have any animals or pets as we live in a kiwi conservation area. If need be we could accommodate dogs if they are happy to stay indoors and go for walks on a lead.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You need a car to access the property or get around in this area. If you don't have your own car we can arrange to pick you up from town. The local village is 5 minutes away with shop and cafe. We encourage our guests to use their time off to explore the area and take advantage of the beautiful nature trails, hikes and beaches.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

View from livingroom
Guest bedroom
Guest bathroom
Our street

Host ref number: 126247974639