1 / 5

Help on a farm in Mount Gambier, South Australia

  • Australia
  • Favourited 28 times
  • Last activity: 13 May 2023



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a little family of 3. We have 2 cats, 12 horses and 1 dog and live on 37 acres in the beautiful town of Mount Gambier. Our daughter is 9 and is about to finish her 3rd year of school. Noe had an accident and can’t work so he is home often. Marie works from home and is a qualified dressage instructor and has taught horse riding in Australia and Switzerland. She has also spent some time learning classical dressage in America.
    We are a very kind and giving family- we like to laugh and are very welcoming.
    Mount Gambier is a stunning place in the South East of Australia. It’s close to many caves and the famous blue lake.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Marie has been an English teacher and Noes first language is Swiss French. We could definitely offer different farming ideas and teach travellers about Australian culture. Mount Gambier is a little piece of paradise. It’s between Adelaide and Melbourne and has many tourist attractions that we would happily show to travellers. The main draw card to this area is the wines. We are situated about 30 minutes from the famous Coonawarra region, so wine tours are easily organized. We are also only 40 minutes away from Mayura Station which is a famous for its full blood wagyu beef (most of which is exported overseas). They have an amazing restaurant that serves hands down the best steak we have ever tasted. What’s not to love about this region?

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Ideally we would love someone or a couple who are good with animals and children. There are many tasks around the farm that we would love some help with- gardening, weeding, mowing, maintaining and planting trees, feeding horses, cleaning animal troughs, pruning trees/hedges, and fencing.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a double bunk bed that is suitable for 3 people on offer with a shared bathroom with a shower and bath. It’s a lovely bedroom which looks out over the back yard and out onto the Forrest we have planted. The sunrise from this bedroom window is always stunning. We are happy to share cooking together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are relaxed and would be grateful to find travelers that are motivated and willing to help us and aren’t afraid to get their hands dirty outside.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Unlimited wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours / day 5 days per week (negotiable)

Host ref number: 125474351912

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Child caring in exchange for lovely accommodation in Melbourne, Australia
Help with gardening and daily life at my home in the hinterland of the Sunshine Coast, Australia