Karen

aus: USA

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Australien, Kanada, Neuseeland

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    01.07.2019 - 30.11.2019

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer
    Super Workawayer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    I love to travel and be outdoors, especially helping animals & the environment or in a garden. As a traveler, I definitely prefer "off the beaten path" and like to get to know a place by living & volunteering/working there (rather than just sightseeing). I've volunteered at children's charities, animal sanctuaries, and on research projects (most not workaways). Some of my favorite experiences have been in Turkey, Sumatra, Belize, France, Australia, Scotland & Cameroon

    In the past I directed nonprofit charities helping children & families (am recently retired), though my interests have shifted over the past 14 years. From 2001-2015, I've lived in a bush camp in Africa for 3-4 months every year helping to manage a chimpanzee sanctuary. Most recently I've fallen in love with wallabies and flying foxes while volunteering in Australia. When I'm not traveling, I enjoy living in Seattle and the beautiful Pacific Northwest (own a home there).

    Particular interests: hiking & kayaking, environmental activism, my golden retriever & fostering kittens, a good cup of coffee, gardening, contemporary poetry & novels. OMG, did I forget chocolate?!

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich: 

    Ökoprojekte

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden 

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen: 

    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Animal care/feeding: dogs, baby birds, flying foxes, kittens, raccoons, squirrels, possums & wild chimpanzees! Garden care & weeding; tree planting; retail & waitress experience; housekeeping; good people skills (i.e. dealing with the public, managing staff & volunteers); conversational French; average computer skills (Excel, Word, social media).

    Administrative skills: planning, staffing, budgeting, organizing systems, volunteer recruitment/selection, marketing (all related to nonprofit/charity organizations or wildlife sanctuaries).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    French: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Alter

    65

  • Nationalität

    U.S.

  • Was noch ...

    While I'm older than the typical workaway volunteer (recently retired), I bring maturity, a strong work ethic and lots of energy, enthusiasm & initiative. I'm willing to tackle most any task, tho appreciate directions! Friends describe me as reliable, organized yet flexible & a hard worker. I'm fine working on my own and also quite enjoy working alongside others. Am sometimes quiet/sometimes outgoing, considerate of others, and love family meals & game nights. If you're interested, I'm happy to share chimp, wallaby or bat stories. In short, I'm keen to help out with whatever is needed & to learn about your corner of the world. Thanks!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      No

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      No

Fotos

Volunteering at a sloth sanctuary in Costa Rica
At the Washington coast with my dog, Tally
Volunteering at a chimpanzee sanctuary in Cameroon
With my dog, Tally
My house in Seattle

Feedback