Alix

aus: Frankreich

  • ...

    Konto Typ

    Einzelperson

  • ...

    Reiseziele

    Kanada

  • ...

    Reisezeit

    12.07.2020 - 19.09.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Explorer

  • Mein Status

    unterwegs auf Reisen

  • Beschreibung

    Hi !
    My name is Alix, I am French and I am 27 yo. I currently live in Vancouver, BC but I am planning to explore BC this summer by doing a lot of hikes and camping and a cool workaway to learn a lot of new stuff that I have be curious about. I am especially interested in off-grid living, growing food following permaculture principles and working with animals. I come from the countryside in France, and I would like to move back there one day and put all that accumulated knowledge to use.

    In my spare time, I do like to watch a good movie or serie, but also reading a good book, meeting up with friends or doing some more active activities like hiking, acroyoga, yoga. In person, I am a cheerful, open-minded and reliable person. I enjoy being outside a lot and meeting new and interesting people.

    Regarding my WWOOFing/Workaway experiences:
    In 2012, I spent 3 weeks WWOOFing at this lovely young couple's farm in Lithuania. It was amazing. I learned a bit about permaculture, drying plants but also about a simple way of life (dry toilet, shower in the nature). They had electricity but no running water and a very slow internet (so no streaming of any kind!). I just wanted to WWOOF some more afterwards.
    In 2016, I spent a month WWOOFing with a family that owned a dairy farm and also offered horse riding in the South of Chile. Although my host did not need help with the farm, they had a huge garden and cabins (for tourists) that needed attention.

    For me Workaway is really the perfect mean to exchange learnings and to meet people from the country. Therefore, if the only thing I have to do is to give a few hours of work everyday in order to do that, then that is not a problem at all. I am always happy to help, and I can help with anything. I am a fast learner and always eager to learn something new.
    Well, I hope to meet you soon!

  • Bereiche, die mich interessieren oder in denen ich anderen etwas beibringen kann

    Interessiert mich:  

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Ökoprojekte
    Hausarbeiten

    Bereits etwas Erfahrung vorhanden  

    Gartenarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

    In der Lage, anderen etwas beizubringen:  

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Sprachpraxis
  • Was könntest du arbeiten?

    Gardening:
    As a kid, I used to help my father with his garden. However, permaculture was not in his vocabulary (cover crops, companion planting, mulching ...). But I have learned a little bit more about permaculture when I stayed at a farm in Lithuania. They were using hay as a mulch. I have a little OCD when it comes to weeding, and I do not stop before a zone is completely weed-free.

    Cooking:
    I can cook/bake, I enjoy cooking/baking and I am a good cook/baker. I always have my recipe book with me for baking and I am always looking out for new recipe to add to my book. Recently, I have been experimenting baking sourdough bread and I make a decent loaf! Aside from that, I also make my own fermented cabbage (aka sauerkraut).

    Animals:
    I love animals and I grew up surrounded by animals: a donkey, sheeps, rabbits, chickens, ducks and cats. I was riding horses weekly for many years as a kid at my local horse riding club. I have always been a little scared by cows, especially if calves are around!

    Woodworking:
    I'm still a beginner making many mistakes, but I am handy with tools if I have them and the space. I have only made simple things, like a wooden planter, shelves, a bed platform for my car, but they are still standing!
    My dad used to renovate houses, and he would always be fixing things around, so I got to help him a bit with some stuff.

    General housekeeping/cleaning:
    Like most people, I like to have a clean home. I use baking soda, white vinegar, castille soap, washing soda, hydrogen peroxide, and essential oils. I make my own dishsoap, washing powder using those simple ingredients to do all the cleaning around my home, and I can show you how to do that at yours too. :)


    Most importantly, I am a hard working person and a fast learner, so I can expend my skill set to your needs. :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

  • Alter

    28

  • Nationalität

    French

  • Was noch ...

    I have over 2 years of experience in Acroyoga and early 2020 I finally did my AcroYoga Teacher Training, so I can teach you some beginner Acroyoga poses if you'd like to get goofy and go upside down. :)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    • Raucher

    • Führerschein

    • Allergien
      Pollen, hay and grass cuttings

    • Spezielle Ernährung
      I eat of everything, but I tend to have a more vegetarian diet for environmental reasons. :)

Fotos

Feedback