Help with outdoor projects at organic farm in Monchique, Portugal

Country

Portugal

aktualisiert  

Bisher 49 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.09.2020

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Davina and Simon are the owners of 6 hectares of terraced land which they bought in July 2018. Building renovation, construction and permaculture have been the main activities for the past 2 years.

    We have been assisted by many, many volunteers from this and other platforms, and we value the energy, curiosity and inspiration that they bring. We like to give them an opportunity to learn new skills, but also to involve themselves deeply into the lifestyle of the Quinta. Many tell us that they have learned life skills and found the place to be personally healing.

    It is our intention to transform this old Portuguese farm and its terraces into a working organic farm which sustains its residents and visitors, and is the setting for a Healing Retreat Centre. We wish to share the pure air, fresh water and natural beauty with those who wish to come on formal retreats, spend their holidays here, or experience the lifestyle as volunteers.

    We welcome volunteer help mostly in the maintenance of the gardens and planting on terraces around the property, building and maintenance of existing spaces, and helping to maintain the walkways in the cork forest. We also experiment with projects to optimise the spring water systems on the land.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The cultural exchange opportunity is mostly through our international team, people with several years of experiences around the world and a few here in Portugal - we regularly work with local artisans/builders and the small community of Monchique offers a great chance to view and live the Algarve hills lifestyle in full.

    Due to the great variety of work and activities available within the property, volunteers have a chance to learn several skills by working on the land: wood work, terraces grass trimming, weeding gardens, organic building, composts, permaculture, harvesting, planting and maintaining our terraces and woodland walkways.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We usually focus on the maintenance of the large terraces of our 6 hectares of land - mostly, watering gardens, strimming, collecting compost material, building and repair around the property, treating wood, maintaining irrigation systems, weeding gardens and harvesting food. Also forest maintenance, clearing, chainsaw and strimming. Our latest focus is various water management projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse
    French: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portuguese: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We built a "Volunteers Village" on the east end of the property: fully functional kitchen (fridge, gas hob, cutlery, plates, pots and pans)

    We provide also space for tents (or a tent if required) for spring and summer.

    We provide food for volunteers, and there is an abundance of food in the larder in and the garden. Depending on the volunteer groups present, the volunteers themselves work out meal times and cooking rotas.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located just 30km from the amazing coastline of the Algarve - half an hour car or bus to the beaches of the South and west coasts, plus plenty of hiking opportunities and walks in Nature - Monchique is a very small and quiet community, just 3km from our property. It has a large supermarket, post office, pharmacy as well as numerous cafes and restaurants.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 995655127551