Help us run a friendly guesthouse in Varkala, Kerala, India

Country

Indien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 57 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Ello folks. I’m Keegan; recently moved here from the Himalayas (Himachal Pradesh) with my mountain dog, Momo. She has since passed on to brighter days in the other realm, but made sure she left me with 3 other doggos (Taco, Salsa & Peanut) who live here on the property with me.

    We’re currently running a little guesthouse in the magical seaside town of Varkala in Kerala (South India) and could most definitely use a hand or two as we roll along.

    Also run an adventure sports company where we take groups of 12 to domestic hideaways & overseas locations for primarily Ocean sports & Mountaineering.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As a culture steeply embedded in folklore, ritual & myth – you can learn all about Kerala’s traditional art forms (i.e Kalaripayattu, theyyam, padayani, mohiniyattam) at the new Centre for Performing Arts, among others, here in Varkala.

    Whether its popping into a cooking class (traditional cuisine), a Yoga retreat on our terrace area or in the neighbourhood , surfing/ kayaking sessions or moments with self on secluded stretches of coastline – there’s a little something for everyone.

    Since there’s been such a constant influx of international and domestic travellers to this coastal haven over the years - it has resulted in Varkala turning into a beautiful melting pot with a diverse bunch from all walks of life . Think Yoga shalas, sea side bungalows, cocktails & conversation, live music, continental sea food platters to cheap local delicacies, traditional fishing, temples & meditation centres.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Animal love & care
    We, (Me & my 3 doggos (Taco, Salsa & Peanut) live here - along with some ducks, chickens & rabbits. We're making room for goats, guinea pigs, geese etc as I type. So some help in building shelters for them; feeding & caring for the animals in general would be nice. Taking the doggos out for beach strolls etc.

    Yoga Teacher
    Preference will be given here with the possibility for longer stays.

    General Household & garden chores
    Help in checking in guests & ensuring the living/common areas & rooms are spick and span. There’s tons of green space around so would love some help with gardening, watering the plants, weeding, composting, recycling plastic waste etc.

    Wall Art/ Interior Decor
    Some of the freshly painted walls of the cottage could use some artwork in keeping with the overall theme. Happy to discuss and bounce off ideas with those traveling with their brushes (have a few to spare anyway)
    Be it artwork on the walls, lamp shade designs from local materials, bed made of pallets or pot making for indoor plants – I’m all ears!

    Carpentry/ Woodwork
    Folks that have basic skills in woodwork etc are more than welcome. A juice/cocktail bar (this one’s 50% done) and a common hangout area with thatched roofing with a bamboo base, is on the agenda. Making of basic lockers/ cupboards is also on the To- do list.

    Event planners
    If you’re out there! Looking to tie up with the local community and gear up for Sunday markets, pop up kitchens, live music gigs, yoga retreats etc.
    Please feel free to give me a shout if you think you could help with something that hasn’t been mentioned, and we can discuss options on working this out together.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Hindi: Gute Kenntnisse
    Kannada: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Thoroughly enjoy Spanish and would love to have some basic proficiency in the language before I eventually find my way to Argentina.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have shared accommodation (2 single beds in a room) with a detached shared wash room. Hot water for your showers whenever needed. Happy to provide simple homemade vegetarian meals during your stay here. You will also have access to the common fridge to stock your own groceries and the kitchen of course, to cook your meals.

    The rooms are clean, bright and cheerful. Plenty of space to lounge around and do your own thing. Wi-fi included.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Being a former Yogashala, the space is strategically tucked away in a quiet corner yet close enough to all the action on the cliff (about 1.5 kilometres away) Maybe renting a bicycle or a scooter for the duration of your stay would work best. If not, a tuk tuk/auto stand is right around the corner. Besides, I have my car and travel to town every now and then so happy to drop off and pick you up whenever possible.

    The International airport in Thiruvanthapuram is just over 1hr & 10 minutes away (42kilometres). The train station is down the road so quick getaways now & then is definitely a possibility.

    The Houseboat experience on Munroe Island is quite special, but the famous backwaters, snake boat races & traditional folk dances; even more so. And if you miss the aura of the hills a bit much – there is always the Agasthyamalai peak which has been added to UNESCO’s network of Top worldwide Biosphere reserves.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Can accomodate pets on a case to case basis . Just so long as the other animals on the premises are safe and can roam around freely without a threat :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 993647859567