Illustration and translation help for book projects on the île d'Oléron, off the coast of France

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 141 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    WHAT FOLLOWS IS MY CURRENT WORKAWAY PROPOSITION, for which I will be able to host again starting in September 2022. However, if my publishing projects are of particular interest to you, please write to me already, regardless of dates, so that we establish contact. We might not be able to connect just now in the short term, but we can keep the idea in mind for a later date.

    So, here goes...

    ME : Originally from southern California, I've been living in France since 1994. I am a writer, a publisher, a guitar-playing singer-songwriter, and a person who loves to make and create things.

    THE PROJECT : ILLUSTRATIONS and/or COVER ARTWORK for book projects, and TRANSLATIONS of these projects into Spanish, Italian, and German.

    I always have several projects on my desk. Currently, several manuscripts for illustrated children's books, and a cookbook to be adapted for a specific audience. Also, a targeted political-statement illustration (in classic 'travel poster' style) that I would like to produce; this approach might lead to a series.

    YOU : For ILLUSTRATION, a confirmed illustrator with several years of experience, who loves to do good work and who commits to seeing a project through to the end because that's what you like to do.

    For TRANSLATION, someone who is a lover of words and language and writing. I would say that it is preferable if you are enrolled in or have graduated from university level education; however, you do not need to be a 'trained' translator. Just someone who has a feel for good writing and loves writing well.

    HOW : The very best arrangement for me it to host Workawayers who are looking for a home-away-from-home while they're traveling, exchanging their work for being hosted and for the cultural exchange. That way, from the start it's an upfront win for you. However, since my projects have a commercial objective, I also propose a share of whatever income our finished project earns once it is out in the market place.
    Together, we plant the seed. It grows.
    Maybe it bears fruit (-:
    We will find out with time...

    WHERE : On the île d'Oléron, just off the western coast of France. Here you will enjoy a home that I designed and in many respects built myself, with lots of light and space, a somewhat wild garden, and a beach that is just around the corner.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am ever keen to meet people. I like to ask questions, find out how other people think & see the world, and learn about how they are living their lives today. So I look forward to sharing rambling one-on-one conversations with you while you're here.

    If you are interested in things like house design and house building, publishing and writing, meditation and spiritual pursuits, I can share with you some of my experience in these areas. I can also teach you how to make home-made bread and chapatis.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    *** Please note : This is a Workaway, first and foremost, with a small possibility for financial gain down the road ***

    In addition to accommodation, meals and a home-away-from-home for the time that you are 'chez moi' working on the project, you will receive, going forward, a fixed-percentage share of any net profits that are eventually realized from our finished project's sales.

    There can be no advance guarantee that a given project will find its public and generate income. Life is like that: uncertain! We might make money; we might not. So this aspect of my Workaway proposal should be seen as 'the icing on the cake', a fun little 'bonus' that we both hope we'll be treated to (-:


    ILLUSTRATION:

    I am looking for illustrators whose digitally-produced illustrations share a style with pen & ink & inkwash drawing / printmaking / serigraphy / gouache / woodblock (style depending on the project), and who want to fully implicate themselves in a book project or poster project.

    Your coming to Oléron gives us a chance to meet, to work out the details of your implication in a given project, to define the approach, the style, the number of drawings in a book project, et cetera.

    Ideally, the compatibility of our ideas, your enthusiasm for the project, and your self-assurance and know-how gained from past experience, will all combine to mean that you can envision doing all of the artwork during your stay on Oléron.

    For each project, I start with an idea as to a type of illustration that I think I want; but my hope is always to work with someone who can actively contribute ideas. We collaborate in finding the style and approach that works best for the material.

    The goal is this: to produce a book which YOU, the illustrating artist, can feel justifiably proud of... and to produce a book which I, the author and editor, can feel deserves to be well received by the public.

    >>>>>> iPad:

    I recently hosted an artist who first sketched out her ideas using paper and pencil; she then switched to an iPad to create all of her finished drawings. The experience convinced me that the iPad approach is a huge time saver all around, when it come to illustrations that need to be in digital format for publication.

    For this reason, I ask that you have your own iPad or equivalent, and that you are comfortable using it.

    TRANSLATION:

    I write in English and/or French, depending on my project.

    So - and in all cases depending on the project/s I am currently trying to bring to press - I am looking to host Workawayers who can translate from one or both of these languages into their mother tongue. Principally SPANISH, GERMAN and ITALIAN. In some cases, PORTUGUESE, DUTCH and SWEDISH.

    I have a computer you can use for the translating work - no need to bring your own (-:

    FURTHER INFORMATION:

    Not all artist-illustrator / translator / author-publisher collaborations work well. It can be hit-or-miss. It may be that when we actually meet in person, we discover that our ideas or approaches are not as compatible as we'd hoped. We both want to enjoy our Workaway experience and the project; so we do best to be honest with ourselves and each other. If we feel it is working for both of us, that we are on the same 'wave-length', then that's great, we're both happy! If however it is not working for one of us, for whatever cause, then that alone is reason enough to move on.

    In terms of common outlook and goals and whether we want to work together, we'll likely know where we're at after just a few days. That's a good time to take stock and decide whether our collaboration suits us both.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am reading in Spanish, but I'm nowhere near being able to speak it. ¿Hablas español ? ¡Quiero aprenderlo!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a separate bedroom on the upstairs floor, with access to a bathroom that is only shared if one of my children happens to drop in for a few days (the youngest is 18, and is currently doing Workaways in Canada; the others are all in their 20s). My own sleeping quarters and separate bathroom are downstairs, and I will not intrude upon your upstairs space.

    When it comes to food, I observe a more or less vegan diet, and most of what I buy is organic/bio. I bake my own bread and chapatis, and content myself with simple fare. Lately, I've been learning some new tricks for making pizza, so I've been experimenting with that. I look forward to learning new recipes from you, and in having fun together when it comes to cooking meals.

    You will have access to wifi/internet, and to a computer (Mac or laptop PC) if you need it.

    Please note: there is no television. But the house does have plenty of books and comic books in both French and English, and a few in Spanish.

    There is a piano that you're welcome to use. Also guitars, a cajón, bongo drums, and other small percussion instruments.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You will find that the island is a place where you can savour your own rhythm. The nearest beach is just 5 minutes away by foot. I can provide you with a not-very-new bicycle for getting around... there are other great beaches to discover, there is a lighthouse you can visit (climb 224 steps and you'll have a great view from the top), numerous surf spots (we can loan you a surfboard or a body-board), and lots of nature and birds to see.

    During much of the year, there is boat service from Oléron to Aix island (Napoleon spent his last night on French soil there) and nearby La Rochelle – both make great destinations for a day-trip, or even a weekend getaway.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Project oriented -

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 984212245978