Adventure sled dogs in Lapland - Siberian Husky & Samoyed Team, Norrbotten, Sweden

  • Bisher 600 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 16 Juni 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    We, that's me Sabine (44), I come from Austria and my husband Frank (52) comes from Switzerland.
    We speak both German, English and Swedish.
    We live together in northern Sweden, Lapland, only a few kilometers from the Arctic Circle.
    Very rural but not totally out of the way.

    We settled here 6,5 years ago with our, then 16 dogs. On a large piece of land with direct access to the Luleälv. Much has happened and changed since then. We have built a completely new dog kennel, created trails, renewed the large barn that fell victim to the snow and completely renovated our house.

    I work full time as a Personal Assistant here in Boden, Sweden. My husband is self-employed and mostly works from home.

    We do NOT operate a tourist kennel and we also do not offer guest rides. We love our dogs and the adventures with them. So our dogs are also our family, and we think they are not given out. However, it is possible that we have guests who visit us or are on vacation with us. It can also be that other musher friends come to us with their dogs to train.

    We currently have 22 sled dogs and 2 house cats. My husband has 11 Siberian huskies and I have 11 Samoyeds. Most of them live in the dog enclosure. Our seniors live with us in the house. You will quickly learn the differences and peculiarities of each of these breeds.

    We are looking for you - the responsible and loving helper for our up to 30 sled dogs, in return we would bring you closer to our work with our dogs, the different races and Lapland itself.
    We have already achieved a lot, but there is still a lot more work to be done.
    And that's where you'd come into play.

    With your help with the dogs, we get more time to cope with the open projects and to realize existing ones. Of course, you can also give us a hand if you want.

    So if you like a lot of nature, dogs, hard work, snow and freezing temperatures, then you've come to the right place.

    And you should be someone who:
    + Sees and does the work independently
    + Is neat, careful and clean
    + Has a sense of responsibility
    + Gladly, quickly and thoroughly cleaning the same things every day
    + I like to be outside in all weathers
    + Is 100% honest
    + Likes to deal with people
    + Is fond of animals
    + Is friendly, but can also assert oneself
    + Don't be afraid of a screwdriver or lawn mower
    + Has a driver's license !!!
    + Happy to learn something new every day
    + who doesn't give up easily when things get exhausting or not going as planned
    + can deal with stress very well

    You are NOT someone who
    - first asks the question of vacation and days off
    - Finds regular working hours important
    - Already knows everything, or rather knows and doesn't want to learn anything.
    - whose world revolves around social media or has to constantly play around on the mobile phone
    - Wants to work with animals because people are stupid
    - Dreams of a job where you pet dogs all day

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here with us, we want to bring you closer to working with our dogs and working in a pack ...

    + Dog language and dog communication among dogs.
    + how and what makes the fascination of Siberian huskies and samoyeds, as well as their differences.
    + how the work with a team is structured, works and how we can support our teams
    + health care for dogs - from nutrition, first aid, stretching, training, massage to physiotherapy
    + a life with and in nature

    But of course also show you our Sweden ...

    + the Swedish nature with its diversity and richness of flora and fauna, the vast wealth of blue bears, lingons, vin bears, etc.
    + "Mid-summer" or also called "white nights", where the sun does not completely disappear from the horizon. With their long and mild summer nights that turn into day.
    + the many lakes and rivers with their strength and tranquility at the same time, with their deep blue surrounded by lush green.
    + the play of colors in the forest in autumn, "India Summer".
    + Storforsen nature reserve the largest rapids in Norrbotten
    + Gammelstad is the old center of the city of Luleå in the historic Norrbotten province in northern Sweden. It is a settlement of 400 huts (kyrkstugor) in which the residents of the municipality could sleep, when they came to Luleå to worship. The church village of Gammelstad is a UNESCO World Heritage.
    Today only a few such church villages remain in Sweden.
    + "Arctic Train Route" an exciting train ride (approx. 8 hours) from the east coast of Luleå (Sweden) to the west coast to Narvik (Norway)
    + enchanting "Vintermarknade" (Christmas markets) where Tomte (Santa Claus) also gives adult hearts to melts and makes childhood dreams come true.
    + the traditional "Jokkmokk Vintermarknad" of the Sami (Swedish natives) with reindeer races, Customs and traditional handicrafts, an absolute must.
    + a crossing of the arctic circle "polar jump" worth remembering.
    + the breathtaking diva of the north, "Aurora Borealis" or "Northern Lights". With her dancing and enchanting beauty in the long, cold winter nights.

    Sweden offers a variety of contrasts in many ways.
    Let yourself be enchanted, mountainous and touched by them.

  • Arbeit


    Previous knowledge with dogs or as a dog handler is welcome, BUT not a must!
    We are happy to show you and learn everything you need to work with us.
    It is an advantage if you are also able to speak German.
    Mainly your area of ​​responsibility would be the dogs and everything that belongs to them in this area.

    The daily routines
    + Feed dogs
    + Clean the enclosure
    + Change water
    + if necessary give medicine
    + Supervision in the dog run
    + Walking with seniors / puppies

    Further tasks
    + Maintenance & repair work in the enclosures / enclosures
    + Preparatory work for the training trips
    + as well as support during the training (from September to March)
    + Reworking after training
    + Massage the dogs
    + Gromming / grooming of dogs
    + Maintain and prepare the trail all year round (check / cut out paths in spring and autumn, in
    Winter press the trail)
    + Snow clearing in the enclosures in winter
    + Change litter in the huts
    + Processing / preparing dog meat

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Swedish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We would like to accommodate you in a room in the main house. You have your own bathroom with a shower, sink and toilet. A washing machine and dryer are also available.

    We offer you free board and lodging, Internet and WiFi are also included.
    We also provide you with a Swedish phone, work overalls and gloves.

    Like our dogs, we are all eaters!!
    Should you prefer something else, we can gladly arrange something. We are very sociable and would be happy to welcome you at our table.

    We are both non-smokers.
    If you are a smoker, we ask you not to smoke in the main building, feed kitchen, and Dog-Yard.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    A minimum stay of 3 months is desired/preferred, even longer better. 😉

    It is an advantage if you are also able to speak German.

    Arrival and departure as well as any additional health and accident insurance are in your area and are to be organized by yourself and the costs for this are to be borne.

    Be warned, this is not a glamorous job as many people think!
    It has nothing in common with a petting zoo or a wellness holiday.
    There are irregular days off, the work can be tough and the weather can be brutal at times.

    ... BUT you learn so much every day, the true values ​​in life, the love of nature and dogs, yourself and your own limits, and that's how you find yourself.

    We would love to call you "Välkommen till Sverige" here with us.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a lot of space.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 979881328634

Feedback (4)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.5)

Looking for help with a big variety of tasks in Näsviken, Sweden
Come to help us with our building projects and experience wilderness in sudok, Sweden