Welcoming home in Odiaxere-Lagos, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 1073 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    50  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.03.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *We are not operating a full volunteer program at the moment, but if you are needing a place to be, or are stuck in Portugal due to lockdown, you can contact us, and we may have some room for you.

    Vegetarian hosts and friends, Roger (m) from England and Sheridan (f) from Canada, would like to welcome you to the Algarve in Portugal.

    We currently have 5 dogs, 2 cats, and 2 horses, all rescues.
    Our focus, for the first few years on the farm, was caring for rescue horses, but now that most of them are re-homed, we are working on expanding our organic garden, planting trees, encouraging wildflowers, and making a welcoming home.

    Ours is an ever-changing and growing volunteer family, and as a result, the people who most enjoyed their time with us were self-motivated, and able to go with the flow. They enjoyed assigned tasks, but were self-directed and didn't constantly watch the clock,. They looked forward to evening get-togethers, and sharing philosophies around the dinner table.

    We have maintained friendships with many of our previous volunteers, including repeat visits and visiting them when we are abroad, and we look forward to getting to know you, too!

    PLEASE NOTE:
    We try to work to a schedule, but sometimes life gets in the way. If you want a strict schedule, and don't like interruptions or change, you might not enjoy staying here.

    ****For the comfort of everyone living or staying here, we DO NOT not accept cigarette SMOKING anywhere on the property. Thanks

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are not Portuguese, and are only beginners at the language; but we are always interested in learning more about Portugal, its language and its culture, and exploring Portugal with you.

    If you have somewhere you would like to visit, we are open to day trips.

    ROGER has been involved with international animal welfare-related projects in the past, and is happy to share his knowledge. There is never a shortage of interesting conversation around the dinner table.

    SHERIDAN has experience in home construction, gardening, Qiqong, and group singing, and is facilitating workshops 2 or 3 times a year. See Bella Vida Portugal, or Beijos de Luz on facebook, for info on past and upcoming workshops.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our garden is very much a work in progress. The vegetable garden, fruit trees, and grape vines need constant maintenance.
    We started a pond at the end of last year, and are looking forward to finishing that project (almost finished !)

    Every day, someone picks from the garden for the kitchen table (plenty of opportunity to learn about plants and cooking).

    The perimeter of the property is overgrown with brambles, which regularly need clearing. It's a bit of an endless battle, but we are starting to win against them! Bamboo needs to be cut back regularly, so it doesn't take over the farm, and the horses love it!

    There are a few crumbling out buildings to be rebuilt, and we have plenty of bamboo waiting for your creative ideas.
    (Buildings are now down, and we are hoping to replace them with natural cob or straw bale sheds)

    Depending on the schedule, the house also requires continuous upkeep, as well as some painting and decorating.

    If you can help with:
    - Cooking and food preparation (e.g.: Pickling, Jams)
    - Housing Cleaning
    - Weeding and general garden maintenance
    - Picking fruit
    - Garden Clearance (brambles, overgrown shrubs)

    - Feeding the horses
    - Light maintenance work
    - Building wooden structures
    - Fencing
    - Brick and Cement work
    - Painting & Decorating
    - Putting up Shelves, Replacing Doors, Cabinets

    .......we welcome you!



    On days off, you can join us for excursions, or do your own thing. Sorry, not as much happening, due to COVID :(


    Ideas for outings are always welcome, and extra days off for travelling, sightseeing, etc. can be arranged.


    *️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️we would like to start creating some alternative housing soon. If you have any prior experience or knowledge, please get in touch!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    One very large room with 3 beds and private ensuite.
    Communal area with fridge and hotplate, sofa and table. Access to main kitchen and livingroom.
    We occasionally provide a single room.

    Previous volunteers have enjoyed camping, and we have a bell tent, a single tent, and some comfy mattresses. The tent area has electricity.

    There is also space to park a vehicle or campervan and plug in.


    We provide the basics for do-it-yourself breakfasts and lunches. Evening meals are prepared together with the volunteers on work days, and are vegetarian. We can usually accommodate vegan and wheat-free diets.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️PLEASE NOTE: Although we accommodate a variety of dietary needs and restrictions, and food is plentiful, we ask that you please purchase any specialty items you need (we are often cooking for 6 or more people, which can make it difficult to meet everyone's special needs at every meal). There is an extra fridge for volunteers.


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️WE ASK THAT YOU NOT SMOKE OR COOK MEAT ANYWHERE ON THE PREMISE - INSIDE OR OUTSIDE*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️.

    Thanks!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The nearest village, Odiaxere, is 2.5km, about 20 to 30 minute walk,. There are a few little shops and cafes, and an Italian pizza place, which does take-away.

    We are about 11 km. from Portimao, and 8 km. from Lagos. Both towns have active day and night life and nice beaches. It is quite a long walk to the beach, but rides are usually available if arranged in advance.

    The local bus stop is less than10 minutes walk, and buses to Odiaxere, Lagos, and Portimao are frequent. The train station in Mexilhoeira Grande is 2.8km. away.

    We are 75km. from the nearest airport, in Faro.

    Outings to the market, shopping excursions, and beach walks with the dogs on weekends. Regular trips into Lagos, Portimao and area. Occasional full-day outings to points of interest. Tell us what you are interested in seeing, and lets arrange some day trips!

    ****NO SMOKING due to allergies.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have room for any size of vehicle. There is hookup for electricity.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We are ok with pets.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours a week, flexible

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.4)

Kommunikation: (4.7)







































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 976791616418