Help me with some gardening and stay in a cottage on the Black Isle, just north of Inverness, Scotland

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 549 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    12.09.2019

  • Abzeichen

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    In 2011, I bought a small cottage on the Black Isle, just north of Inverness, which had previously been unoccupied for over 2 years and needed a lot of work. I spent the next 3 years on a major house renovation project, reconfiguring the rooms and converting the loft space into a new bedroom/study. The garden had also been left to grow wild, so I have another big project, which is ongoing, to develop the garden. I grow my own fruit and vegetables and have recently started keeping bees.

    I have travelled a lot in my lifetime, including many expeditions to remote and wilderness areas of the world. I've set foot on every continent including two trips to Antarctica. I am interested in many aspects of traditional culture and I enjoy sharing my enthusiasm for Scottish music, storytelling, history etc. with visitors. I work as a doctor and spend a lot of my time being on-call from home. I am interested in social justice, human rights, feminism, ethics, philosophy, theatre & the arts. I enjoy reading, walking, climbing, running and other outdoor activities. I play fiddle and cello, mainly traditional Scottish music but also some classical.

    I have enjoyed hosting independent travellers over the past few years, generally just for one or two days at a time. As a change, I decided to try this site having heard recommendations from several people, because I often have various tasks around the house and garden for which an extra pair of hands would be useful!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am interested many aspects of traditional culture, such as the oral storytelling traditions, music and dance. I enjoy helping visitors to experience life in the Highlands, including exploring the local area on walks or trips to visit notable sights or places of historical interest. I live not far from Chanonry Point, which is one of the best places in the world to see dolphins from the shore.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I would mainly appreciate help with general gardening activities such as landscaping, weeding, cutting wood, planting etc. It would also be appreciated if guests could share in household activities and preparation of meals. I enjoy learning about new cooking ideas and techniques from different parts of the world. I also simply enjoy getting to know new people and spending time together to explore the local area and develop new friendships.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Scots. I would like to improve my very basic French and Spanish!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I can provide a variety of accommodation options depending on needs and circumstances. Anything from a single bed in my study, to a sofa-bed in the music room or even a cabin by the shore if you prefer a rustic lifestyle!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My house is about 40 minutes walk plus 10 minutes by bus from Inverness city centre. Inverness, the Black Isle and the Highlands of Scotland have a wide variety of interesting places to visit and spectacular scenery!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Completely negotiable - maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Walking in the Cairngorm mountains with my first Workaway guests, Sofia and Montse from Catalonia!
me!



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 973195751692