Hilf mir mit meinem Meditationsgarten und meinen Hunden und lerne über Buddhismus in Bangsoatong, Thailand



Bisher 1649 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    After spending 48 years in the USA, I decided to go back to my homeland, Thailand, and do something for my people! On the land that once belonged to my family, I created a little island of peace! Here you'll have the chance to have an exclusive insight in the Thai culture and do something for the local community!

    I, a female Monk (Bhikkhuni), live here with 15 dogs. The island of peace is composed from a garden, that stretches between a river and a little lake, 4 Kutis (hut) with ensuite, a dorm, one meditation hut and one open-air kitchen hut. But large scale improvements are happening constantly.

    Everyday you'll be able to enjoy the sunrise over the lake from your veranda and the sunset over the river, you'll have the chance to meditate and learn about the Dhamma, to experience Thai culture and kitchen and to cultivate peace and self-development. In exchange you'll be helping me with the garden, taking care of the dogs and the different tasks in the garden and surroundings. Just help wherever help is needed as well as other various chores and community outreach programs. The days are busy but there is much opportunity to learn!

    Our daily meals are offered from the surrounding community (Bintabat) therefore I won't be able to guarantee you more than twice meals a day. You may also find restaurants and shops in walking distance and cook anything that may be in the kitchen.

    Although we ask for a minimum stay of two weeks, we are always looking for longer-term volunteers (one month or longer). Punya Panya, in her work with the dhamma, is sometimes called away from the Meditation Center, and she needs volunteers who are willing to help manage the property. This includes:

    - Feeding the dogs
    - Welcoming new volunteers and showing them the ropes
    - Welcoming guests
    - Teaching English to school children every Monday
    - Managing the Workaway account

    Punya Panya, as well as two other female monks and one male monk, are opening another center near the border of Lao to provide a place for female monks, who are not entirely accepted in Thailand, to follow the dhamma. For this reason, Punya Panya may be away from this property on more occasions and may need a kind soul willing to exchange at least a month of property management for the use of the meditation center and time to work on self-development on this peaceful property.


    Other things to note:

    A respectful behavior (proper clothing - covering your knees and shoulders, listening to music only with headphones, not hosting parties or people overnight in the hut, women and men sleep separate, etc...) will be the only requirement, as this is a place for meditation, inner peace and self-development! Learning a bit about monks and proper behavior around them before your arrival is much appreciated.

    You need to know that there is no public transportation close by. This is a quite remote place.

    We do not have wifi but there is a nearby police station that allows us to use theirs whenever you like. SIM cards and data plans are very cheap though, from any 711.


    Minimum stay of two weeks is required.
    A donation of 100bath per day is expected (water, electric contribution)
    Please write in the subject your anticipated dates of arrival and duration of stay. Please inform yourself about buddhism and thai culture and dont expect the place to be like it would be in western countries (thai food, cold water, easy lifestyle, respect the monks and their "rules", but very open-hearted)

    Note that we recently implemented a new system to welcome new coming volunteers due to the large amount of submissions. Our new "policy" consists of greeting newcomers on the 1rst, 15th or 30th of the month and bid them farewell 2 weeks later (the 14th or the 30/31rst of that same month). Although we ask for a minimum stay of two weeks, we are always happy to have volunteers for a longer period of time, as long as it fits with the other applications. (one month maximum).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here you'll have the chance to develop yourself through the means of Vipassana meditation, to live and experience directly Thai culture and kitchen and to learn about Buddhism in Thailand!

    If you're really interested in learn about meditation, philosophy of Buddhism and Monk lifestyle you are welcome but, if you are just looking for free food and accommodation it's not a place for you. Please inform yourself about thai culture and buddhism in advance.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    You'll be asked to help 2-3 hours/day with general maintenance and taking care of the garden, surroundings and the dogs. Just ask, what you can do, there is always help needed.
    In exchange we can provide you accommodation and 2 meals a day (breakfast and lunch) but please, NOTE: our food is donated so, we won't 100% guarantee that will be everyday the same amount, though there is typically enough food.

    Furthermore, you'll be asked to donate 100 baht per day per person as a financial support (electricity, laundry etc).
    NOTE: Minimum stay of two weeks is required.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Thai: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    Your accommodation will be in one of the huts, sharing dorm or tent (depends how many workawayers we have, NOTE: men and women separate)! Every hut is provided with own bathroom (wc, sink and cold shower), veranda, mattress and fan.
    Be aware you might have to share a room and that males and females sleep in separate rooms.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We frequently have knowledgeable members of the community come to teach volunteers about different aspects of Thai culture. For example, paper leaf kites, music, and how to make traditional food and desserts. There are also occasional field trips to places like Ayuthaya (old capital of Thailand). As we're only 10 km from the train stop Lat Krabang, it is relatively easy to get to our area. There are plenty of things to do at home like meditation, reading a book on the veranda, fishing, walking, cycling, or simply resting! I know an impressive amount about culture, history, and local transportation, so just ask if you have a question!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    15 hours a week

  • ...

    Dieser Host verlangt Gebühren

    mehr dazu
    Optional 100 Baht contribution for food

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.4)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (4.3)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 971291863614