Großfamilie mit Ferienhäusern und Tieren in der Natur des Lake Districts freut sich über Hilfe bei der Hausarbeit, mit den Gästen, im Garten und in der Küche

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 1529 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    58  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.04.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    326

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    56.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 20 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hello,

    We are looking for one or possibly two long-stay Workawayers to come and help us from the beginning of April until the end of August/September right here in the centre of Keswick, Cumbria. So a full 5 months in The Lakes!!
    !! Please only message if you can stay the entire time!!

    My children and I are looking for conscientious, independent helpers with masses of initiative who'd like to live right in the heart of the English Lake District, 2 minutes walk from the centre of Keswick, ONLY 20 minutes from a railway station AND 3 hours to London, 1.5 hours by train to Manchester / Glasgow / Newcastle & Edinburgh. So perfect for days / weekends off.

    We have about an acre of woodland, garden, river (with fishing rights) and vegetable garden and we are only 10 minute walk from a huge lake and the mountains. We have a dog, cats, chickens & guinea-pigs. Jeronime a qualified and experienced EFL teacher and will naturally support your language development.

    Our house is ALWAYS a very busy. Jeronime is a busy single mum busy with 3 kids living at home, studying at university and running a business. My two older son's also live here and help out. Our family loves all kinds of outdoor adventure sports - walking the Fells, sailing, climbing, mountain biking, kayaking, canoeing, camping, fishing & BBQs on the Lakeside....and the rain!

    Everyone in the family climbs! In the winter its indoor climbing; Keswick has a climbing / bouldering wall and we often travel to Carlisle to Eden Rock which is brilliant. In good weather we organise days out climbing local crags.

    Keswick is a busy tourist town in a stunningly beautiful part of the UK. It is REALLY easy to find part-time work. You'll make friends and become part of the community rather than someone just passing through.

    Basically, if you can do it outdoors... you can do it in Keswick, the Adventure Capital of the UK.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be living with us in one of the most important literary houses in the UK and we host many visiting professors, university departments and writers of English Romantic Literature. The Lake District is home to Beatrix Potter, Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Ruskin and many more. We host famous actors and personalities so we do expect you to be discreet as they require total confidentiality. We are often visited by TV crews and writers, so it can be very busy at times.

    This is a great opportunity to really enjoy life in a classic Georgian English country house in the most beautiful part of England, improve your English and learn new skills that will be great for your CV. An opportunity to spend time with a busy, fun family. The best way to learn English is by using the language everyday.

    Jeronimé is a qualified and very experienced EFL teacher with over 30 years experience so is very able to support your language acquisition and development. We are always out and about enjoying life and are happy to have you jump in our old LandRover and come with us on trips out to the lake /Fells / the cinema / supermarket.

    Our family is big (7 children aged 26 - 10), however only five live here full time at the moment. The house is always full of people, children, friends and guests. All of our children play instruments: piano, violin, cello, guitar. We love mountain biking, canoeing, walking The Fells, art, watching movies together, cooking and basically love life!

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Jeronime has rheumatoid arthritis which 'flares' up from time to time and has a genetic blood disorder which makes her susceptible to viruses - this can make her really exhausted about 1-2 days each month. However, pretty much most of the time she's full of energy!!

    We need WorkAways who are independent, have lots of initiative, who are conscientious and would like to stay long term, this gives you more opportunity to make real friends, really become part of the community here in Keswick and means that my children aren't constantly saying 'hello' and 'goodbye'!

    Our working week looks a bit like this:
    During school holidays - Monday to Saturdays with Thursday, Fridays & Sundays off.
    Outside school holidays - Monday to Thursday Fridays, Saturdays & Sundays off

    Hours
    On Mondays or Saturdays when we are cleaning guest accommodation, we start work at 10.30am
    Other days we start at 9.30 and work for 4-5 hours with a lunch break
    The rest of the time is yours - if you have the right visa, we can help you find a part time job in Keswick.

    We are looking for help with the following:
    Cleaning
    Decorating
    Washing, drying and Ironing
    General maintenance and DIY
    General gardening
    Help with our animals am and pm...maybe dog walking
    Preparing the garden and vegetable garden for Spring
    Help keeping my own family house clean and tidy.

    Applicants need to be 21 years old or over to be included on our insurance.
    If you are applying from within the EU please ensure that you have a EU health card and make sure you have dental insurance as this is NOT covered by the NHS except in an emergency.

    We can help you apply for a National Insurance if you're planning on staying in the UK.
    If you are applying from outside the EU you must have an appropriate visa and health insurance in place.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, some German, some Japanese & Arabic

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In return for your help we offer accommodation, food for your breakfast, lunch and snacks, evening meals with our family and a little pocket money.

    YOUR ACCOMMODATION
    A lovely little caravan called Daisy - with one living/sleeping area with either two single beds or one double bed, compost toilet, sink, little kitchen area, heating and electricity. If we have rooms available in the guest house you can stay there, however you must keep your accommodation very clean & tidy.

    You are welcome to use our shower - you will have a key to our back door. During the week you are really welcome to use our sitting room to watch television until about 9pm when the smaller children go to bed.

    As a family we also do need time to be on our own. I've also found that Workaways also need to have their own space / time. Between us we'll discuss this and work out what works best for us all when you get here.


    FOOD - the MOST important bit!
    Most of the food we cook is vegan and often gluten free.
    Occasionally I might cook fish or meat sausages for a BBQ but not often.

    I will buy what you need for 7 X breakfasts and 7 X lunches.
    I will also buy the food you need for 2 X evening meals a week.

    On workdays I cook an evening meal for us all to eat together - I love cooking. Everyone helps to set the table and clean up after the meal. If you are a good cook I'd love you to cook sometimes.

    We will often invite you over for Sunday dinner in the evening -if you're busy don't worry but the invitation is there.

    I don't agree with junk food, palm oil, meat or dairy products however am happy to buy you dark chocolate! We generally make all our own cakes and biscuits and bread and will teach you how to do this as well. We grow a lot of our own vegetables.

    POCKET MONEY
    IF you have a working visa we are happy to offer UK minimal wage of £7.20 per hour WHEN cleaning guest accommodation after a guest stay.
    This is usually 4-5 hours per week and helps towards evenings out (great pub quizzes in Keswick), the movies (we have a wonderful tiny cinema), the theatre, buses or to save.

    All OTHER Workaway hours (around 20) are in exchange for your accommodation, food, use of washing machine once a week, internet, gas/water/electricity etc. IF you are expecting full payment for all the hours you workaway, this is not the place for you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Keswick is a very welcoming community and if you make the effort you will make life-long friends here.

    There are many small community groups which are free to join and very welcoming to newcomers: theatre, street theatre, knitting, walking, climbing, chess, archery. We have bicycles, canoes, kayaks for you to borrow. The River Greta runs through our garden. Just 7 miles away is Scarfell, the highest mountain in England plus lots of other fantastic walks and climbs.

    We have a huge lake with a ferry service and a good local bus service. Penrith is only 20 minutes away and from there London is just 3 hours away and Edinburgh 2 hours. If you book tickets well in advance, a return train ticket to Edinburgh can be as cheap as £10!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5/6 hours a day - 4 days a week (max 25 hours a week)

Me and the kids
View back towards Keswick from Catbells
Half way round one of our favourite walks
A great walk just down the valley from where we live





































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 964952339343