Learn about organic gardening in Southern Oregon with amazing views and gardens, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 121 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My husband (Dakota) and I (Anna) have a small farm on a hillside that looks out over a beautiful valley in Southern Oregon. We are in our late 60’s and early 70’s. We raise sheep and grow lots of fruits and veggies. We have ten sheep, four rabbits, a dog and a cat. We are looking for help with tasks around the farm and are happy to share what we have learned about organic gardening over the years. Also, I am studying Spanish and would love to practice speaking with a native speaker, though this is totally optional.

    We live a very quiet life. This is a perfect place for someone wanting a retreat atmosphere. I love a good conversation; Dakota is a bit more introverted. Our dog, Junie, is totally awesome and will play frisbee with you forever. Kitty Kat is more reserved. Dakota spends most of his time working on the farm. I spend much of my time on the farm but am also involved with various peace and environmental groups. I also teach classes in nonviolent communication and conflict resolution skills.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our farm is located about 2 ½ miles from Talent, Oregon and 7 miles from Ashland, Oregon. This is an extremely active community around food and agricultural issues – lots of ways to plug in and learn. There is a great hot springs/pool in Ashland which is also the site of many music events. Ashland is also the home of the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. There are lots of hiking trails in the area, as well as rivers and mountains to explore.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with general maintenance, tending the animals, and in the garden – planting, watering, weeding, weed-whacking, mulching, pruning, harvesting and preserving the harvest. What is needed varies through the seasons. There are also special projects from time to time. Please, no smokers, drugs, and only limited alcohol. We are looking for folks to come for 5 - 7 days. (If you only come for 5 days, one of those days would be a day off.)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a lovely “Scamp” travel trailer available for work away visitors. It has a double bed, refrigerator, stove and a shower. There is a toilet in the house - a very short distance from where the trailer is parked.
    The trailer is supplied with basic cooking and eating utensils, as well as some essential food items. Depending on the time of year, you are welcome to seasonal fruits and vegetables fresh from the garden. You are responsible for preparing your meals. We have erratic schedules but would enjoy sharing some meals together.

    Our farm is about 3 miles from the town of Talent, OR, which is just off Interstate 5. There is no public transportation to our farm, but there are buses from Medford (north of us) and Ashland (south of us) that would take you to Talent. Depending on your arrival time, I could possibly pick you up in Talent. But be aware that it isn't easy to come and go from here without a car. When I go to town, I'm happy to take you along.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 963374252881