Enjoy Niagara-on-the-Lake, Prettiest Small Town in Canada & Help with Childcare



Bisher 142 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Come practice your English with a mother, daughter duo in a century-old heritage home. Niagara-on-the-Lake is called the "prettiest town in Canada" for good reason. It's why we recently moved here!

    We could use your help restoring and decorating this amazing heritage-designated home, doing fun, creative projects with Soleil (8 years), and helping mum with daily meal prep and lessons.

    We're a cheery and creative single mother, Silk, and an eight-year-old wonder child, Soleil. We're new here ourselves, and could use your help building community and establishing a fun, active and creative household. Cooking yummy meals, playing music, ogling our adorable house bunnies (no cats or dogs here, so no worries if you have sensitivities; most people with allergies are fine with bunnies), making art: all things we invite you to come do with us.

    As a former ESL instructor and program manager, I would be happy to help you practice your English in a safe and relaxed family environment. It really is the best way to gain fluency!

    Also you'll get to learn how to use tools for home projects and help create beautiful spaces. We're turning the house into a guesthouse and could use your ideas, special skills and unique perspectives to help us get the house ready for success in its new life.

    The town of Niagara-on-the-Lake is full of charming old historic houses with gorgeous gardens, little cafes, two theatres, and streets bursting with flower beds and hanging baskets. Horse-drawn carriages roll down the streets. The surrounding area is full of fruit orchards and vineyards. It's famous for its delicious wines and craft brewed beer.

    The house is a gem: a mini mansion with loads of sunlight and potential, a meadow for a backyard and a resident groundhog colony. The property backs onto main street, with busy cafes, shops, coffee shops and restaurants - so it feels like we're both in the country and at the heart of downtown. It's a very special spot. We feel lucky to be here.

    The lake is only short stroll away. In winter, there are giant ice blocks, and the town looks like a picture postcard of a winter wonderland.

    Along the lakeshore is an awesome walking and cycling trail. It's so long, in fact, it links three different towns together. You can ride a bike to Niagara Falls. And Toronto is only a 90 minute train ride away. So you'll be well-situated to enjoy this whole amazing green area - as well as a multicultural city a bustle with live music, arts and food.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Improve your English with an experienced ELS teacher and program manager.

    Experience life in a small historic Canadian town. The old town, where we live, is a designated Canadian heritage site, with lots of interesting original character homes, museums and art galleries.

    Local people here know each other, and are famous for being kind to visitors. Because it's a tourist destination, you'll get to meet people from all over the world. It really is a unique place!

    We're right next door to the Shaw theatre, one of Canada's finest. It runs several award-winning plays throughout the year. We've seen one production so far and would definitely be up for seeing more plays.

    As a former ESL teacher and language program host manager, I have lots of experience helping people from all over the world feel at home and comfortable expressing themselves. We would be happy to help an English language learner practice and gain confidence and fluency. Soleil also makes a great tutor! I can get by in Spanish.

  • Arbeit


    Soleil and I moved here from Toronto last winter and are still cleaning, painting and decorating the house. We could use your help and ideas making the rooms and space beautiful and clean, with a playful and fun, whimsical feel.

    Soleil is a sunny, bright and funny kid. She loves meeting new people and would really enjoy having creative, positive people around to chat, swim, read and make art with. I'd love some help teaching Soleil, who's being homeschooled.

    Soleil is currently recovering from kidney surgery and could use extra hugs and cuddles.

    And then there's the everyday stuff I could use help with: shopping and meal prep, rabbit care, etc.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You'll have a nice room, either to yourself, or if we host two WorkAwayers (and you're comfortable sharing a room) a dorm (if not, we'll find space in this massive house for you to have your own cozy zone). The bathroom and outdoor shower are shared with myself and Soleil. We can lend you a bike during your stay. It's the best way to get around here!

    We have a piano, cello and various musical instruments; we love having people play music in the house. Even just messing around with instruments is good.

    I will provide food for snacks and meals, though I'd love some help preparing it. You're also welcome to do your own thing when you feel like it, and will have your own kitchen cupboard space. For treats, I regularly take us all out for gelato, order pizza, or buy a bottle of local rose to share.

    We're a vegetarian household (with dairy and eggs, but not seafood) and eat lots of banana pancakes, tacos with guacamole, spaghetti with veggie sauce, tofu and chow mein veg stir fry, etc. Also, we snack lots on fresh local fruit, nacho chips, cakes and pies - and we eat a lot of ice cream (cashew or gelato if you don't do dairy) to keep our strength up:)

    We can accommodate vegan and different diets. If you're an omnivore, you're welcome to bring pre-prepared meat items into the house and store and heat them up, but we ask that you don't cook meat in the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to see and do here: riding bikes along the Lakeshore trail, hiking in the parks, visiting cultural sites, museums and art exhibits. Live music. Parades. Winery tours and wine tastings. Ice wine. Peach wine. Apple brandy. Or wander around old town sampling gelato from the many shops. Get your picture taken in the old times gallery in a Victorian-era outfit.

    Niagara Falls is only a half hour away, and has a neon carnivalesque feel, with a sky wheel and a zipline over the falls.

    There's a local bus system that runs to the falls, and to the nearest city, St. Catherine's. Toronto is only a 90-minute shuttle bus or train ride away.

    We recently had two art student sisters from New York helping out, and it was a blast. They were very much a part of our family, and Soleil spent a lot of time sitting in their laps. They came to the "secret beach" with us and floated around in flamingo and unicorn floaties. They made art figured out how to install the outdoor shower. I am immensely grateful for them and would love to continue hosting positive, fun folk - and sharing this beautiful global green village.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 962253428539