Come enjoy unforgettable sunsets over lake Michigan and help with a log cabin, organic farm or improv comedy group. USA

Country

USA

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    11.04.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Tom. I am an artist and carpenter. I enjoy acting, farming, painting (landscapes) and building and hope to find creative individuals who can help me with various projects. I have various children and grandchildren who come to visit me all the time but are too busy to help much.

    I live in a beautiful four bedroom log home right on Lake Michigan with a private beach. Depending on the time of year, I have several accommodation options for my guests. I have a few extra rooms in my lakefront cabin when it is not rented out, as well as a barn behind my cabin or an apartment behind a building I am renovating in downtown South Haven.

    I have a 30 acre organic farm adjacent to my home. My son-in-law farms it and there is always extra work to be done there. The farm is a private homestead, not a business. There is also various landscape work and carpentry that could be done (such as building another barn). The farm is 4 miles outside of South Haven, Michigan, a major tourist destination during the summer.

    Downtown, I own a historical building that I am converting into a theater for my improvisational theatre group to use for performances. I need help renovating, moving furniture, and organizing. This building has an attached apartment that can be used by my workawayers and is a short walk to the public beach.

    I also love to work on my home and could use help with organizing guest and storage spaces, gardening and general home maintenance. I rent it out a few weeks a year as a vacation home, but when it is not rented, I can offer accommodation here as well. I can also offer kayaks, canoes, and bicycles for your free time when the house isn't rented.

    Learning more about social media and helping me advertise for my Improv group and workaway projects would be a great help as well. I'm very flexible and have an endless list of projects, so I am certain we can come to an agreeable exchange and ultimately want to host fun and memorable experiences.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I have lived all over the world and I've done all different types of work. I am retired. I have hosted exchange students from Norway and I welcome all kinds of people. I can teach people how to do lots of different things and I am curious to learn from people of different cultures. I should add that having an enjoyable time is high on the priority list.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need help with anything and everything. I'm transforming the old church into a theater for my acting group, so there is construction tasks needed: sawing, nailing, painting, and gardening. Also if there is an interest in directing an improv theater it could be a lot of fun. I also have a 30 acre organic farm, a private homestead, not a business, where we grow asparagus, hops, salad greens, tomatoes, and herbs.
    This spring we will also be transplanting a thousand trees. Ideally you would be prepared to do what ever it takes to move the farm forward. From plant to harvest, to social media and video documentation. While none of these skills are required, I appreciate individuals with building/construction skills, cooking skills, farming/gardening skills. Creative, educated, and artistic people are welcome.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Russisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a full apartment behind the historical building with several bedrooms. When my house is not rented out (I usually only rent for about a month or so), I can also potentially host people in the furnished upstairs of the barn behind my house or in my cabin when family is not visiting.

    I am open to feeding my workawayers, but this is something I would like to do with a bigger group and would need help cooking.

    I can definitely offer a place to sleep and depending on the situation, I can offer a lot more as well.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your free time, you can cycle around, I have many bicycles available to borrow. There is great swimming (in the summer) at my private beach and walking in and around the quaint city of South Haven. In the past I have hosted exchange students. I have accommodations at my home in the log cabin, in the barn, or at the renovated church in the town. In town, all shops are available by walking.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 2-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 957921539929