Komm und hilf uns, einen kreativen Gemeinschaftsort in einer speziellen Ecke auf dem Land ins Leben zu rufen, Normandie, Frankreich

Country

Frankreich

Bisher 665 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    59  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    15.11.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    95.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    An amazing colombage (timbered) house and an outbuilding with five bedrooms and cosy rooms, a vast barn, a stream, a plunge pool, fresh spring water and a constant show of wildlife.

    Note: Most Travel restrictions in France have been lifted. Border restrictions and travel into France from European countries has been lifted but is still heavily restricted from other parts of the world. Please check the rules for where you are travelling from in advance.

    We need a team to help us with the forest garden, with the vegetable garden, with all this years projects! Do get in touch if you are thinking of coming and we'll arrange a video chat. Any questions please do send us a message.

    The estate nestles in a hectare of land in a small valley in the ancient and beautiful landscape of the Pays d’Auge in Lower Normandy, France. An hour from the channel coast and ports, two hours from Paris by train and car.

    We are right by an espace naturel, the Coteaux Champ-Genets, known as one of the most important protected natural areas in Normandy, with 15 kinds of orchid, gentian, plus horses sheep and goats.

    With so much land and garden there is always lots to be done, daily and weekly tasks plus smaller and bigger projects. Most work is outdoors and there are some indoor things to do too, including fermenting and other food work as well as day to day looking after the living spaces.

    This year we have been developing the forest garden with lots of fruit planting - there will be lots of soft fruit in the Summer. the vegetable beds have also increased and will need attention throughout the Summer months.

    We have loved hosting people through workaway and we are happy to chat about what is needed at the moment, and projects for next year too. We always arrange a Skype call with whoever is thinking about coming here, so do get in touch!

    We sometimes need some special jobs and would always love to hear from people with carpentry, masonry, building skills.

    There are four cats here, two we were given and two who just kind of turned up and stayed. From time to time we look after goats and sheep who need some extra care, for the people who run the protected hillside. In fact right now (May 2020) we are looking after 3 goats and their five kids, who are helping us by cutting the nettles, thistles and grasses in the managed wildflower meadow.

    It is a quiet idyll here, and away from town noise and light.

    Please note there is also a gite on site so there will be paying guests around the property from April to September.

    There is a minimum stay of two weeks - however this year we will prioritise where people can stay for longer. We hope to have a series of helpers who can stay for much longer periods, a month, or several months.

    *️️️WORKAWAY REUNION*️️️
    Hello again - just to let everyone know that the planned reunion for workaway volunteers is postponed because of travel restrictions- we hope to re-organise it for June 2021.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travellers have the chance to learn about life on a hectare of land, which is aiming towards sustainability. You can learn about growing veg, developing the land, breadmaking, preserving and fermenting. We offer a place for quiet reflection in a peaceful setting.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for people who enjoy the quiet countryside and are willing to do what needs to be done to continue creating this beautiful space for nature and people.

    Minimum two weeks, maximum 6 months. Our preference is for people to stay for a month or more as that gives good time to get to know how things work here.

    Projects for the first and second quarters of 2020 include:

    Planting out the vegetable garden.
    Planting trees and bushes, the first stage of a food forest in our top field.
    Looking after the gardens generally.
    Clearing out the pond.
    Improving the walkway by the stream.
    Creating seats around the gardens.
    Tending to and creating compost.
    Making jams and jellies.
    Fermenting projects, including vegetables such as cabbage and potato, and drinks such as ginger beer, apple juice and tea.We also make our own Apple Cider Vinegar.
    We regularly make yoghourt and bread.
    Late in the year we take ours and neighbours apples to a travelling pressoir and leave with many litres of juice.

    Larger projects may include:

    Resetting the paved area around the plunge pool (which is a little broken right now).
    Re-digging drainage channels and diverting spring-water.
    Painting the cabin over the stream.
    The caravan still needs refurbishing :).

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Finnish: Fließend
    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    French: Gute Kenntnisse
    Sami: Gute Kenntnisse
    Swedish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are a range of places to stay in the Summer, including 3 rooms with 2 single beds in each one. This year we are likely to host between 2 and 6 people at a time.

    Kitchen and living room space is shared. Three meals a day are provided. Meal preparation is shared by everyone staying here, so expect to experience a range of cuisines, from as many places as there are Workaway people!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The small towns of Vimoutiers and Gace are 10 minutes by car, approx. 45 minutes by bike and 2 hours to walk. There are four bikes available for use (and an amazing countryside to explore) and there are occaisional trips to the boulangerie and local markets.

    From Paris we are circa two hours by train (to Lisieux) and about 1 1/2 hours to L'Aigle. About two hours from Paris by car; two hours from Dieppe.

    We provide directions to get here and can sometimes collect people from stations etc - we can talk about this when we make arrangements with you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    If you want to bring a pet please check this out with us in advance, we have four cats and sometimes other creatures too.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Workaway social space, created by workaways!
The garden rooms, where we all live in the Summer months. Workaway rooms on the right side.
Cage all ready for winter squash growing.
New residents May 20.
Onions, planted in 2019, not far to go, May 2020
A gathering of neighbours and workaways in 2029.
Creating brick pathways
Clearing out 20 years of sludge form the pond in 2018 - in 2020 we need to clear out weeds.
Cabin over the stream, restored by workaways.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 957475551612