Lots of plans, need more hands! Come and help on our farm in Perthshire, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 220 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    84.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 48 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Come and spend some time with us at Farm! We are a family run diversified farm business; home to 3 contemporary eco-considered huts, 3 self-catering houses, a large converted steading (where we host parties, weddings, workshops), a veg growing project (organic principles), bees, Hebridean sheep, hens, donkeys and 150 acres of permanent pasture and mixed woodland. We would love a little extra hand around the place- in all manners of jobs- from log splitting, to house-keeping, to planting trees, to help at events, to work in the veg garden.

    As a business, we have been open for a year and a half- and have so so many plans, and not enough hands. The farm is run by our family- Anna, Kirstin, Richard and Fiona- daughters and parents- as well as a few other wonderful full time staff members. They love the farm- and the view- and really want to share the space with others, so that they can enjoy it too.

    We want our customers- who stay in the huts + houses, and attend parties and workshops- to be able to escape from their normally busy, digitally led lives, and settle into the rhythms of the countryside.

    We have a small flock of 24 hebridean sheep (who are absolute toe-rags) who are a joy to be around, as well as Hugo and Ollie, our white donkeys. Our chickens roam freely around the farmyard and woodland, and provide us with beautiful orange yolked eggs. We also have a fabulous new growing project established this year by Kirstin, sowing and growing veg, growing with sustainable and organic principles- and supplying a farmstand at the end of the drive.

    We can’t wait to start hosting workaways on the farm! We hope that they can lend a hand in all manner of areas- and are open to other skills and suggestions out-with those suggested by us. As a family, we do not currently live on site- but do spend most of our time here, so there would be an element of peace and quiet in the evenings, and bustling day times- we love to catch up at lunch time, a couple of times a week, with a pot of homemade soup. We hope that you can learn to love Perthshire as much as we do- and that we can show you lots of fabulous things about Scotland!!

    Skills that would be awesome: knowledge of gardens/growing, housekeeping to a good level, joinery/building work, painting, general outdoor skills, cooking/outdoor cooking/foraging

    Ideally, we would be looking for individuals or couples who may be able to stay with us on the farm for 2-3 months. Please get in touch if that sounds good to you.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will be part of a young, vibrant and excited team- a chance to see a diversified farm in action, and live in a place with what we think is the best view in the world.
    A great location to explore Scotland- 1hr from Edinburgh, 1.5hrs from Aberdeen and Glasgow, and a hop to great walking/exploring locations.
    A chance to learn about different growing techniques, and basic animal care.
    We can recommend some ace places to explore in Scotland- walking, eating, sleeping...

    A few member of our team are trying to learn new languages (and one is studying modern languages at university)- so they would love the opportunity for some real life practice, and perhaps it can work both ways.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Regular areas we need help:
    - Housekeeping: change overs in the huts + houses (alongside our full time housekeeper), cleaning in the Steading, general sorting out.
    - Help outside on the farm- a little bit of this and that- if have the skills, some joinery work, building small structures, fixing fences and troughs
    - Environmental work: planting and caring for trees, sowing/meadow care
    - Growing operation: helping with the growing operation- sowing, weeding, harvesting. Help with the farm-stand.
    - Event work: some waitressing, helping clear up events, cooking if that is a skill of yours
    - General tasks: outdoor tidying (firepits, woodland areas etc), looking after hens + collecting eggs, chopping firewood and kindling for store, making the odd pot of soup (we can show you if you dont know how)...and a whole heap of other wee tasks.

    We would love help 5 days a week, for 5 hours a day (usually morning- early afternoon if that works ok)- however, please discuss any plans with us, as we can wiggle around a little with days and hours should you want to go on a long weekend adventure. We are happy to flexible, but do require 25 hours per week. You will be paid for the hours worked, which will discussed in person (skype etc) prior to your stay.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    english, a little bit of german/french/spanish/italian

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a little caravan available for workaways- an individual or a couple. This has space for bed, little table and seats, and is located next to the main farm buildings. From there, you will have access to our staff "common room" (for lack of a better word)- approx 15meters from caravan- which is more like a little flat. It has a small kitchen, table and chairs, sofas and wood burner, as well as a shower/bath loo. We also have lots of lovely outdoor space to enjoy in the evenings (fire pit in the woods etc), as well as a boat on top of the hill, which is a perfect place to catch up on some reading. During the daytime, the common room will be shared by all of the team(we have a rota to keep it clean), but generally in the evenings you will have it to yourself (unless we have an evening event on).

    As a "digital free"farm, we do not have public wifi- however, there will be a little access for emails/browsing. We kindly ask that it is not used to download (it is capped)- however, if you have a phone when with you, we do have 4G on the farm.

    You will have access to fresh vegetables and herbs during your stay, as well as eggs from the hens- and any meat that we may have from the farm (this is not very often, but if we do, you may have some). Any time there is shared staff food, you will be welcome (encouraged) to join in, but for the most part, you will be responsible for your own food and meals. We have lots of foraging opportunities in the area too, should you wish.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We like to live in a sustainable, healthy way and would love it if those who stayed with us did to- an enthusiasm for the outdoors, slower ways of living and working hard would be fab.

    As we have lots of guests who pay to stay on the farm, there would be some basic rules about things that could and couldn't happen- such as areas that are guest only, behaviour around guests etc- however, we can give lots of guidance on this- we hope this is understandable.

    Please be aware that we are not on any public transport routes, so we would recommend that workaways have their own transport (of some type), or we can find some bikes for you to get around. We are approx 4 miles from the closest local shop and 12 miles from Perth or Dundee.

    We are really looking forward to meeting lots of new people!!

    Who are we...!
    Anna- 29 years old, runs the diversified element of the business- loves her spaniel Mole, being outside, plants and gardening, looking after her Hebridean sheep, paddle boarding (fairweather!), cooking outside and really nice wine. Passionate about getting people outside and switching off, particularly children!
    Kirstin- 28 years old, runs the veg growing side of the business. Super keen outdoors person- loves hiking, biking (road and mountain), climbing, skiing...basically anything outside! Passionate about local sustainable food production.
    Fiona- Anna + Kirstins Mum. Loves lots of little sideproject jobs, adores her donkeys, likes sailing, skiing, cycling- as well as traveling, and delicious food. Wants to go on more adventures!
    Richard- Anna + Kristins Dad. Loves his old cars- finding, restoring, rebuilding engines. General whizz at fixing things, building things and coming up with new ideas. Mr Outdoors!! 2 chocolate labradors- Raisin and Porridge- Porridge has just had 6 puppies!!

    Who else works here...
    Jamie- outdoor master!! Super keen hiker/climber, loves being outside, always building something or coming up with a new plan. Jamie is about to become father to one of Porridges puppies.
    Jade- weddings and events officinado at the farm...but... has spent the last 10 years as a zoo keeper. The most wonderfully knowledgeable animal person- and a super keen birder! She has two gorgeous border terriers!
    Holly- super housekeeper!! She keeps things looking ace!! Loves crafting, working with kids and is a keen language learner- she has just started a modern languages degree!!!

    And then...every other family member who drops in from time to time, including Susan who does lots of brilliant garden based tasks, Digby (Annas Boyfriend) who is a keen cider maker and preserver, and Iain (Kirstins Boyfriend) who is really getting into making bread, and makes the best pizzas in our wood fired oven.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5hrs per day, 5 days per week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 957224681617