Come and enjoy some authentic kiwi lifestyle - lots of different things to do and enjoy on our lifestyle plot in Gisborne, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 121 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.11.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 11 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have a little 1.4 hectare mini-farm in a nice rural setting, but also close to town and the beaches. We are a close family of 4, including 2 daughters (aged 9 and 7). We have a lot of animals on our property... including horses, dogs, a cat, chickens, and lambs. We hobby farm olives and oranges, with about 300 trees. At the same time we're exploring new farming areas, just out of interest (!). This includes mushrooms and snails, although that again is just a hobby and experiment. We ride our ponies, which is something that a workawayer could also do if they know about horses. We love nature and regularly go hiking, fishing (sea and trout), and we also enjoy the beach. Anyone that stayed with us should have lots of interesting and fun things to do. I also work for the Council, and there could from time to time be opportunities to do some eco work. I am an ecologist and hopefully you will have a chance to learn about nature when you're here. My wife is a teacher, and there could also be opportunities to get involved there, which would be great fun and a good way to experience some of the NZ culture.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are part of a small town NZ community, with lots of activities on all of the time, and with lots of interesting things to do. We love maori culture, and would expose any stayers to local cultural maori experiences as far as possible. We are not offering a 'business-as-usual' farm placement, we're all about doing lots of different things / hobbies. Depending on the season, we may well also end up selling produce and preserves at the local market. Rich maori culture in Gisborne.

    I also speak German, which may help some travellers. And we run a German Beerfest once a year in October...

    The photos I have included all show some of the cool things we do and experiences you may have.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would just be looking for someone, or 2 people, to fit in with our busy family, help out in daily life, and take advantage of opportunities. We are quite busy, can't do everything with you that Gisborne has to offer, and so initiative on your part in getting out and about in Gisborne is recommended.

    We don't make money off the farm stuff on the property, so would not be paying for any of the work. We can give you nice accommodation, meals, and a good family and kiwi experience in a great little part of NZ.
    We are looking for people that plan to stay a minimum of 2 weeks.

    Must be happy to take care of animals, like children... and must have a valid drivers licence.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    German, English, Afrikaans

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a separate spare room with a double bed, bunk bed, and breakfast / lunch table with kettle, toaster, and benchtop cooker. Whilst meals could all be prepared there, dinner could also be with us in the main house, or can of course be taken back to the accommodation. Because it is just one large room, probably best for a couple or two people happy to stay in the same room. The spare room is connected to the house, and does not have its on en suite bathroom. The house has 2 bathrooms and toilets. The accommodation is functional and clean, has everything that you need, but is not fancy! We will want to give the workawayers privacy, and we will also want some privacy at times.

    There is Wi-Fi in the accommodation.

    Your own vehicle would be desirable. We do have 2 bicycles, which can be used, but then safely and if lost / stolen (which is unlikely but possible...) then the user would need to pay the excess on the insurance.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Gisborne is a great place to enjoy the outdoors. The beaches are excellent for swimming, surfing and kayaking, there is fishing, and there is snorkelling. World famous Wainui Beach.

    Search the web for the following (and to get an idea of what can be done here):

    Rere Rock Slide, Rere Falls, Kaiaua Bay, Morere Hot Pools, Koranga Forks Hut, Lake Waikaremoana, Te Tapuwae o Rongokako Marine Reserve, Tairawhiti Museum, Wainui Beach, Gisborne Farmers Market, Makorori Beach.

    Not far away are hot pools, river experiences, and dense native forest. The town is relatively small (it is a city, but only just), but it has everything that you need. Just check out Gisborne tourism on the web. The best way to get around would be by bicycle, as there are no buses. Otherwise by car. Your own mode of transport (car or bicycle) would be preferable, although we can help out if needed.

    We like to have a life-work balance, making the time to enjoy this beautiful region. We are very busy people because of our children and various projects, and we would expect anyone interested to be self-motivated, on the ball, and keen to do things. We would want interested people to go away with memories that they will treasure for the rest of their lives, whilst also pulling their weight. We are a fun bunch!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 955393442629

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
mehr