Be a Green fingers, Bob the Builder, or "Susie house maker" in Tanjung Rhu, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

aktualisiert  

Bisher 134 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Currently need volunteers for 16 August - October 2019, both male and female. Please refer to the list of tasks that needs to be done in the section below.

    Hi, my name is Afifah and I currently run a small homestay business on my family's property in Langkawi. This place was originally intended for huge family gatherings, but as that doesn't happen often (only about once or twice a year), I decided to clean the place up and present our 'kampung' houses for tourists visiting Langkawi, offering an unmatched experience living in a traditional Malay house set by the beach. After 7 years working in the city behind a desk, I decided it was time to move on to other things. So in 2017, I decided to quit my desk job in the concrete jungle that is Kuala Lumpur, and run and develop this place on a full-time basis. The challenge is, it’s just me, so this place is essentially a one-woman show!

    The decision to venture into hospitality and tourism was an easy one. With such great interest in culture and travel, and my background in communications, I thought jumping into this business was a perfect leap. I not only offer accommodation to guests, but also give them an insight of what it is like to live within a Malay community in Langkawi. The concept of my business is to provide a well-rounded cultural experience; to help foreigners understand the concept of the Malay community living in a ‘kampung,’ while learning about the history, traditions and customs of Malaysia, as well as reviving tales about the mystical island of Langkawi, to add some flair to their trip.

    Hence, I think the Workaway candidates would benefit from staying with me and helping me run the place. There are a lot of things I have taught myself to do that I thought I would never do, but an extra pair of hands and some strong muscles would ease my daily work. However, I do not believe in bossing people around, I believe in leadership through example. Hence why I need someone who is self-motivated and always ready to help with a smile.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Touristen

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I'd be happy to take you around Langkawi, show you some good spots, share with you about what Malaysia is and the rich and mystical history of this beautiful island that is Langkawi in your free time. Often, I will take past volunteers to other beaches and waterfalls as well as look out points.

    Here, at my place, we all work together. I like to foster a very supportive culture and would like volunteers to treat my place as their home and look after it.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Currently I'm in the midst of improving the grounds on my property and running the place alone.

    There are also some maintenance work that needs to be done as well on the property. So someone who is handy and jack of all trades please inquire within!

    Currently help is required in:

    1. Lawn maintenance - This includes lawn mowing, lawn sweeping, weeding, tidying up the lawn
    2. House keeping - Cleaning the rented houses and preparing them for guests
    3. Guest relations - Attending to guest's needs.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Malay

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have finally completed our small cabin for volunteers to stay in. This cabin can fit 2 people at a time and has a bathroom attached. We also provide fans in the cabin. The cabin is raised from the ground so it is better ventilated and volunteers who have stayed in the cabins have said it is comfortable to sleep in. However, we do have 2 other bigger container cabins that is new, beachfront, with a killer view, which is meant for guests. If you are staying for more than 2 weeks, you may stay in this container in your last 2 weeks or longer.

    I currently only need volunteers to work 15 hours a week maximum and only provide accommodation. We have completed an outdoor cooking area for volunteers to use along with crockery. You also have an alternative to eat from the near by food outlets found around the area that are very reasonably priced. However, I do need for volunteers to be flexible with working hours; there are days when you have to work for more than 3-4 hours, but of course this will be compensated throughout the week.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is much to discover here in Langkawi. The life here is pretty chilled and relaxed. Being so close to the beach, there are days when you just do not want to do anything else and just kick back with a book. However, should you like to tour around, there are various beautiful beaches around the island. Best want to get around is to hire a motorbike, or take a Grab. You are also welcome to ride with me if I happen to be heading in the same direction.

    While staying with me, I do have a few house rules that I impose on my guests and also potential Workaway volunteers.

    1. We have a STRICT no alcohol policy on the property. If you are found with alcohol or illegal substance, you will be asked to leave immediately. Of course you can drink outside if you like.

    2. While volunteering here, we require that you dress appropriately.
    No bikinis are allowed while on the property. We are nestled within a Muslim village and I'd like to exercise respect to those who live here.
    Women are required to wear at least a tee-shirt and pants, shorts or skirt that is just above the knee.
    Men are also required to wear pants/shorts that is just above the knee or longer.

    3. If you are staying in one of our properties, you may use the fan, not the air conditioning (sorry!)

    4. You must clean the house you are staying in before you leave, and during your stay.

    5. NO PARTYING ALLOWED AT ANYTIME.

    6. You may not bring guests without prior consent from the host.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

The view from one of our houses from the veranda.
View from the host's house.
The location of our 2 properties.
Pondok Awang
Teratak Mira.






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 954118949342