Help needed for little farm in Namibia producing cheese and meat and raising parrots

Country

Namibia

Bisher 120 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    24.07.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    21

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I own a little farm in Wilhelmstal, Namibia. The animals I have are cows, goats and dogs, parrots, chicken and quails. With the milk of the cows and goats I produce cheese and other dairy products. Furthermore I buy game from farms in the neighbourhood to produce biltong, dried sausages and other local specialities. All these products I sell on a weekly Bio market in Windhoek.

    My big passion are birds, especially parrots which I am breeding and raising. Furthermore I love to grow any kind of plants in my garden and all around the property. If then some time is left I grab my spinning wheel and relaxe.

    Since my husband has passed away some months ago, I am doing most of the work on my own. Therefore it would be great to have some helping hands.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Originally from Germany, I immigrated to Namibia many years ago. I preferably correspond in German but also speak Afrikaans and English. The staff helping on the farm mostly speak Afrikaans and a little English. Involved in selling the products on the market, you will get in contact with the costumers and experience the ambiance of the mixed community in Namibia.

    Volunteers can learn about sustainable farming, breeding birds, making cheese and dried meet as well as growing plants without chemical interference.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    You will be involved in the daily tasks of animal care, production of cheese, gardening, collecting wood, helping on the market and much more, depending your skills and interests. Most work will be outside and some quite physically demanding. Therefore you should be in good health and not mind the heat and getting your hands dirty.

    Furthermore it is important that you love animals, especially dogs as there are four of them wandering around the property and the house.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Afrikaans: Fließend
    Deutsch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    En suite bedroom

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are two double rooms available for volunteers. Both have their own toilet and shower (one only with cold water). The rooms are located in separate buildings next to the main house. Depending on the number of volunteers you will have your own room or sharing one with an other person. WiFi is normally available in and around the main house. However there are sometimes electricity cuts because of the weather.

    Food and drinks are provided. For breakfast and lunch everybody can help themselves. Supper is preferably cooked by the volunteers or together. On a Sunday evening we can have a traditional Braai on the terrace.

    I live quite remote. There are no shops or restaurants around. The next village is half an hour away. Therefore it would be best for two friends or a couple.

    I have one car which I need to go to Windhoek two times a week to get supplies or to go to the market each Saturday morning. If you want to be flexible you will need your own transport or you can arrange a shuttle service on your own costs. It stops in front of our gate and brings you to the next bigger cities like Windhoek (150km) and Swakopmund (200km). From there excursions to the desert or game reservation areas can be booked.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 949996932127