Gorgeous healing retreat centre in south west France, with salt-water swimming pool, needs friendly volunteers

Country

Frankreich

aktualisiert  

Bisher 589 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    675

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    65.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We opened a healing retreat centre in south west France in 2015. Matthew works in peace work in the middle East and as a couples coach. Emma is a writer and is now working hard trying to make the retreat centre a success, but there is always so much to do. We have 4 children, 3 of whom are grown up and visit occasionally, one aged 12 who lives here.

    The retreat centre is used for yoga courses, self-development workshops, shamanic trainings etc. Tasks could include pruning plants, helping prepare meals for the groups that visit, washing up, cleaning, tidying up the grounds, planting vegetables and looking after our cats - to create a beautiful experience for people attending the courses.

    At other times of the year we need help keeping the outside environment beautiful: weeding the flower beds, straightening the sunbeds, hanging out washing, but someone flexible that could also turn their hand to painting furniture, or indeed help move it, popping into town to pick up lunch or some lightbulbs. Sometimes there are projects we all get involved with, other times there are things to do alone. If you have particular needs please let us know.

    We are also keen to improve our French - we are currently at intermediate level and would like to become fluent - so would welcome native French speakers who would be willing to spend time talking slowly in French with us.

    We are in the countryside a couple of km from the market town of Chalais. This is a quiet place, although Bordeaux is less than an hour away by train.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Matthew was brought up in the Middle East and left Lebanon during the war to move to England, but never felt at home there. Emma is Scottish by blood but has lived around the UK and in Egypt. They would both love to live in the Middle East but settled in France because it's much safer. We like to welcome people from all over the world into our family. We will include you in our family activities so don't be shy! Although this is France we speak English at home. Matthew enjoys scuplting and music and there is usually a creative project on the go you can get involved in.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The kind of help we need varies each day. If there is a course going on then you would help us keeping the place feeling lovely. When the workshop guests leave we head outside to keep the weeds at bay. We have dug a vegetable patch and grown our own veggies this year so watering that too.

    Our season is April-October so outside of those dates, during the winter, the tasks do not include hospitality and are more likely to be repairing, re-painting, tidying, cleaning.

    We are also keen to improve our French - we are currently at intermediate level and would like to become fluent - so would welcome native French speakers who would be willing to spend time talking slowly in French with us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English some French and some Arabic

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Often a pretty bedroom with ensuite or private bathroom but it depends if we have lots of guests in which case you may have to share with a workaway of the same gender.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    It's very rural with walks and bike rides around us, a nearby river for fishing and kayaking and we have a swimming pool. The nearest town in walking distance is Chalais which is on the line between Angouleme and Bordeaux which are both nice cities to explore. We have bicycles you are welcome to use.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 945954443655