Help on our small organic home farm in North Leitrim, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 37 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.04.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 4 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our organic home farm is situated 350 feet above sea level on the southern slopes of Benbo Mountain, half way between Dromahair and Manorhamilton, each about 7kms away, in North Leitrim and 18km from Sligo town.
    We live in a sustainably refurbished old cottage and are off grid generating power from Wind, sun and water.
    We grow our own vegetables under cover and outside and there is always lots of tasks to be done in the garden. There is always maintenance to do, strimming, cutting hedges etc.
    This is a beautiful area close to mountains and lakes, the sea is about 25km away. We have bikes that can be used by helpers.
    This area, and house, is shared with 8 chickens, 2 dogs, and we also have a pony and a donkey. We welcome people who have an interest and love for animals and who will help with animal care.

    We can collect from Sligo or Carrick on Shannon and there are a few buses each day between Enniskillen and Sligo that stop in Manorhamilton.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a friendly rural community and are involved in lots of community based projects so taking part in these projects will give visitors an exposure to local Irish rural life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Ongoing projects include help with gardening, all gardening chores, weeding, making plant beds, preparing new ground for vegetables, compost making etc, etc.
    Current winter tasks include cleaning out the stable and hen house and making compost with the manure. Hedge maintenance, which involves bundling and tying the trimmings for firewood. The house could do with being whitewashed with lime wash. Our sheds need cleaning and tidying, and reorganisation of the tool shed. Collecting fallen leaves and mulching the flower beds with them. These can be challenging physical tasks so you can expect to get fit and strong while you are here.
    We both work in full time jobs Monday to Friday, So we welcome people who are happy to help us during the weekends when we are here and to take their time off on weekdays.
    We have some small scale building projects and renewable energy projects from time to time.
    We need people who can help out off their own initiative and who will care for our home as if it was their own home. We love good food and cooking, we grow a lot of our own food, diet is mainly vegetarian, all cooks welcome. Household tasks, cooking, cleaning, washing up etc are shared. House and accommodation are non smoking. Downsides are midges, they can be relentless on Summer evenings. sometimes the weather can be cold and wet we are 7kms from the nearest village.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Irish, learning French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation is in a beautiful, self contained, loft apartment in the shed with wood fuel heating and a shower and fully equipped kitchen, There are no press button convenience, if you want a shower or to heat the apartment, you will have to bring in wood, clean out the ashes and light the fire. We tend to work long hours during the week, often getting home late so helpers will have to cook for themselves during the week and we might share meals at the weekends.
    This place best suits a couple or two people travelling together, who are interested in this type of lifestyle, who are used to being resilient and independent, and not afraid of with physical tasks.
    We have a one week trial and if it suits everybody then we can negotiate length of stay.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a very rural with no local transport. There are some bus services from the nearby villages which are about 7Kms away. The area is very beautiful and there are lakes, rivers and mountains nearby which are accessible by bike.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 945796394983