Caribbean sailing in USA

Country

USA

Bisher 1301 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.05.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    324

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    History:
    Over the last several years, I've been sailing around the western Caribbean, sometimes with crew, sometimes solo, sometimes buddy boating with other boats. A several years back, I was introduced to Workaway, which has been a great way to find people who are interested in traveling for more than a day or two. After having great experiences with previous Workawayers, it's time to try again!

    About the trip:
    Currently in the Florida Keys. Tentatively in the planning stages for a late Spring-Summer trip. Where to? Unfortunately, Covid-19 has made international travel via sail difficult, and more unpredictable than usual. So this year I probably will do a north then south sail along the eastern seaboard of the USA. Not as much blue water sailing, but scenery and nature nonetheless! The good news is that visa requirements won't exist, and schedule flexibility will be greatly increased!

    What we do:
    Sail from place to place. Shoot fish with spears. Drag fish behind the boat on hooks. Hang around bonfires on beaches. Watch and if we are lucky, swim with dolphins. Explore uninhabited islands. Visit fun locals. Enjoy sun-downer rum drinks, and anchor down beers. Just have general fun, with an occasional dash of terror (storms, sharks, or dodgy coral reef navigation).

    What we also do:
    Deal with bad weather, which happens. Work, because this is Workaway! What kind of work do you do on a boat? Three kinds! The first is work ON the boat - everything from changing the oil in a motor, to polishing stainless steel. The second is day to day stuff, such as cooking, and cleaning. Usually, I prefer breakfast and dinner to be group style, where everyone contributes according to culinary ability.

    About the captain:
    I am Dan. Escaping the rat race by sailing for a month or two at a time. For the last nine years, I've been sailing on this vessel, and logged over 15k miles between the US East and Gulf coasts, the Mexican Caribe down to Guatemala, Cuba, and the Bahamas, and south to Panama and Colombia.

    About the boat:
    It is a 37 foot Valiant Esprit, a sloop rigged monohull sailboat. She was built as a solid blue water ocean cruiser, and I have been maintaining her in the same way. This is a solid safe boat, not a ratty boat waiting to sink on us!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    See the boating world, and hopefully have awesome sailing and water activities!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    How this works:
    The crew will be operating the sailboat during all day to day activities. This includes: cooking, cleaning, fishing, learning to sail - and then sailing - standing watches, helps with videography, and help with general boat maintenance.

    I provide the boat and the training of how to do the above things you don't know how to do.

    What I require of you: Must be able to swim, and be reasonably fit. Cool with eating fish. Lots of fish. Your relationship status with sea sickness can't be bad or worse. Passport, obviously. I prefer non-smokers, and no couples. You must play well with others. Pull your weight with ship duties. And you must follow orders.

    What I don’t require of you: Sailing experience. In fact, I typically prefer if you have none. Its much easier to learn, than to unlearn!

    Nice skills to have: Filming, photography, cooking, cleaning, webpage work, and musicians are always wonderful to have.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am very poor at languages, unfortunately. But I am patient with my deafness to ones other than English, and am really needing to stop neglecting my Spanish!

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The boat has one private cabin, in the front, and accommodation for three others in other berths, and one bathroom. Plus hammocks on deck, but crew size is limited to interior berths. Ideally I want two crew.
    We have more power than we need with 1000 watts of solar feeding a big battery bank. Propane 3 burner stove, oven, and outdoor grill for cooking. Pressurized water inside, even hot water in limited quantities! We don't have really strict rationing, but still don't waste it.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Money: I cover all expenses related to the boat and boat operations. If there are costs related to places we go, these are normally shared - i.e., marina fees, park fees, visas, etc. Food costs are shared. Due to the nature of living on the sea, we cannot accept vegans or vegetarians, or people with allergies to shellfish. Bonus, though! Since we won't be leaving civilization far behind, and the ability to replenish food stores with wonderful fresh fruits/veggies, I am more flexible in accommodating Vegetarian/Vegan lifestyles. When ashore, you pay for your own meals/drinks, but you are welcome to stay on the boat and cook your own meals for free. Also, alcohol is not included in normal boat operations. This is typically divided among those who drink.

    Destination and time: I typically have a rough idea of where I want to get to, but that is subject to change at my discretion. You also have influence in the decision of where/when to go. Therefore, the time is always subject to change. Moreover, we may not ever reach where we intend to go. Therefore, you are welcome to get on or off at any time. However, I do not take crew with booked tickets, ie, the weather and tide predicts when we will he somewhere, not the calendar.

    Safety stuff:
    The boat is equipped with a full set of modern navigation equipment, including radar and satellite tracking. All required gear is aboard -things like life jackets, visual distress, fire extinguishers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Power for computers isn't an issue. Most times, I expect to be in range of cell service. We will need to discuss your personal needs. The boat actually doesn't have a 'Mobile LAN' setup right now, but I have that on the list as a future upgrade, so we could talk about that!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)








Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 939196811714