Help us garden, paint, and enjoy Vancouver life at our "urban farm" in Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 76 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.07.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We (Paul and Keltie) live in inner city Vancouver, and have a corner lot with no sidewalk so lots of growing space. We have maximized food growing production, with fruit trees, berries, tons of vegetables, and chickens, plus a lovely perennial garden at the front of the house.

    For the past 10 years, we have slowly been expanding our production, refining the garden infrastructure, and growing/gardening with friends and neighbours.

    Our house is over 100 years old (that's really old for Western Canada!) and this year we are doing a few upgrades to the house - painting the interior, and a few minor renovations. Plus generally doing some fixing up of the house and yard.

    We are committed to sustainability and social justice, and welcome people from all cultures and backgrounds (incl. LGBTQ2S, gender non-binary) who arrive with an attitude of respect, curiousity and non-judgmental acceptance.

    There is no smoking in the house or on the property.
    We also are sensitive to fragrances, so please no perfumes, colognes, or strongly scented products while staying with us.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We try to live with a light footprint on the planet, so travellers will learn about living in an environmentally friendly way. We also believe strongly in the value of community, and have friendships and connections with many neighbours - we hope travellers will experience a sense of community when they stay with us.

    Vancouver is an incredibly diverse, multi-cultural city with food, culture, language and customs from all over the world. It can be a great experience to see what a progressive, environmentally-friendly major Canadian city is like.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Our preference is to host people for 1-2 weeks. We are unlikely to be able to accommodate you if you are looking for longer-stay postings (e.g. 1-2 months).

    It's also very hard for us to book something many months in advance as we just don't know our schedule and what needs to be done that far in the future. If possible, please only check in with us max. 2-3 weeks before you are thinking of coming.

    In next few months, we are working on the following and looking for people with ACTUAL experience in this kind of work:
    - Repainting interior walls
    - Small building projects (tool cupboard, seedling shelf, etc)

    On an ongoing basis, there is always work to be done in the garden.
    - weeding
    - pruning (in early spring)
    - applying compost and mulch
    - starting seeds, transplanting
    - harvesting
    - watering

    Much of the gardening work we can show you what to do, but preference is for Workawayers with previous experience helping on a garden or farm.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Guest room with shared bathroom. For now, the guest room is upstairs and the bathroom is shared with us, but part of our home renovations are to create a new guest room on the main floor that would have a separate bathroom.

    For food, travellers would be welcome to eat meals with us, and/or make their own meals. We eat vegetarian, with lots of legumes and vegetables and whole grains, and would ask that travellers do not cook meat while staying with us. There are also many amazing restaurants nearby, with a wide variety of cuisines, if you feel like eating out a few times.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Vancouver has so much to do! Lots of museums (the Museum of Anthropology is fantastic), art galleries, music venues, bars and cafes and restaurants, and dance and cultural events. During the warmer months, there are music and cultural festivals. Plus - lots of beaches, some with good swimming spots if you are ok with colder water. It's also possible to get to the mountains nearby, either the North Shore mountains (Seymour and Grouse are accessible by transit) or Whistler is about a 3 hour drive or charter bus ride away. We also have lots of parks, including Stanley Park which is filled with beautiful giant trees and ferns, Pacific Spirit Park, and lots of smaller neighbourhood parks.

    You will find lots of outdoor activities, yoga, cycling, ultimate frisbee, kayaking, paddleboarding, sailing - it's a very active city.

    We live about 4 km from downtown, and there are various public transit options to get you there. We also likely have bicycles you can borrow while you are staying with us. Lots of shops and restaurants and bars within walking distance as well.

    In 2019, we spent the year cycle-touring around the world, and volunteered as Workawayers in Spain, England, Wales and Croatia and had a really great experience with this...so we know what it's like to be in your shoes, and what makes for a good stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 938872427313