1 / 4

Helper/house-sitter country house Aegina, Greece

  • Griechenland
  • Bisher 354 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 28.01.2023

Verfügbarkeit

  2023 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    PLEASE READ THIS CAREFULLY BEFORE REPLYING:

    OCCASIONAL HOUSE-SITTING COUNTRY HOUSE AEGINA,GREECE:
    I am looking for a quiet, reliable non-smoker, 30-70 years of age, in good physical shape
    --preferably someone already in Greece. Must speak Greek or English (both would be great!)
    I am looking for a way to be able to leave my very quiet, beautiful home on the island of Aegina for periods of several days for up to a couple of weeks (maybe even more) with a very trust-worthy person taking care of the house,vegetable garden and my two cats in my absence.

    Ideally, that person would already live in Greece (or be in Greece for some duration) and be wanting/needing to spend a lot of time in a non-urban environment, in a very quiet place with
    few distractions. Someone engaged in writing a book, post-graduate thesis, doing research or studying, or someone who works online at home would be ideal. Or just someone who spends a lot of time alone,and not all of it in the house.

    When I am home, I need to spend several hours per day on music practice, and am in general used to a lot of solitude, so I am needing someone with similar needs. Though someone very compatible might stay here inbetween my excursions, in exchange for some help (see below), it would also be necessary for that person to have somewhere else to stay-- as would be the case for someone who lives in Athens but wants to get out of the city as much as possible.

    If someone stayed for periods as a helper, I would offer home-cooked excellent food and my beautiful large guest-room (and all utilities) in exchange for some help in garden and house--and internet if someone has knowledge. And/or with shopping, etc. Hours to be negotiated, but few and very flexible.
    I would also be willing to help volunteers with English (my native tongue) or with Greek, up to an intermediate level (though my knowledge of the language might be approaching the advanced level by now).

    HOUSE-SITTING IN MY ABSENCE: A helper would need to look after the garden (experienced vegetable gardeners most welcome but not essential) and feed my two cats, in exchange for stays of at least one week minimum in a beautiful country house in Greece on the island of Aegina. DATES UNCERTAIN AT PRESENT. When gone, a house-sitter would cover their own food expenses.
    s
    A PRIOR VISIT IS NEEDED
    As I need to feel totally secure with anyone who stays in my home either in my presence or absence, those interested in my offer would need to come to my home in advance, with a video chat preceding this. Good coffee and food would be offered by me during such visits, and an overnight stay also possible.

    DETAILS about house and surroundings below.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am fluent in GREEK, both spoken and written, and a native English- speaker who has also published articles in English. I play traditional music from various regions of Greece and also from Asia Minor, as well as some Ottoman classical (and other) music on violin.
    Volunteers would be welcome to listen to music from my large collection of traditional music from Greece and Turkey and to peruse my collection of books about and guides to Greece (written in English). I'd be happy to help anyone with English or Greek language or teach them something about the music I play if they stay on after my return.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have dug and planted a large, walled organic vegetable garden over the duration of 2 years. Watering and harvesting of vegetables is needed, and other work always possible--to be discussed.
    I need to have my two sterilized female cats fed twice (or more) daily, and the house looked after and kept reasonably clean. If someone stays here when I am home, help with internet glitches would be most welcome, or guidance in yoga practice.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Greek: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Large, private room with medium-double bed and its own toilet, with nice sloped wooden ceiling. The room, which is next to the larger veranda, looks out on the large, walled garden, and is almost like a little cabin.
    There is a shower in the bathroom inside the main part of house and a good, well-equipped kitchen. Helpers can eat vegetables harvested from garden. I am not offering to cover food costs for house-sitters while I'm gone, as the exchange is basically the use of a fully-furnished, beautiful country house in exchange for minimal time in the garden,cat care and keeping house clean and safe. A good deal!
    If a helper were to stay on for awhile after my return from trips away and help me out with cleaning, computer knowledge and/or garden, I would provide home-cooked meals.

    There is Wi-Fi connection in the house and guest room. Lovely quiet, green area with pine woods close by.The house is on a very quiet road, with only a couple of neighbors, but not remote! Bus stop is about a 3-minute walk from house. Limited bus schedules to main town (25 minutes by bus), with none returning to this area after mid-afternoon and taxis expensive, but good supermarkets 2 and 5km from house-- return with groceries can be timed with bus coming back. Easy access on bicycle.
    Very good food shopping in main town/harbor (15km distant) with several markets selling organic products, a very good fish market, many tavernas and cafes, good bakeries, etc.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The island is beautiful and offers a lot to see and do, though bus route limited. For those without vehicles, there's nice walking from house to sea or in the woods. The sea is a 10 minute walk from house with good swimming spots. The main town (also the harbor) is very pleasant, with neoclassical architecture, a long pedestrian street, a pedestrian walkway on the waterfront, a fish market and good grocery stores, various tavernas and cafes, traditional kafeneia (old-style Greek cafes) and a relaxed atmosphere. Small enough to walk around and see everything in an hour (at most). The coastlines offer beaches and coves of various types and sizes, and there is plenty of unspoiled nature up in the hills, with nice sea views. The small, very undeveloped, wooded island of Angistri is a short ferry ride away, with schedules that allow for day trips.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes. The house has Wi-Fi, and good connection.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    3 at most--flexible days

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 935666331894

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback




Live and help build a city community in Athens, Greece
Long term community partners and volunteers welcome at a natural farm in Crete, Greece