Help with our gardens in Nova Scotia

Country

Kanada

Bisher 69 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.03.2019

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of 5. Oren works as a Clinical Herbalist and as a post production supervisor - two very different worlds! I (Caitlin) am home with the kids, managing the house/gardens and also running a small Waldorf toy making business.
    Lilah is 5 this May and Hazel will be 2, (also in May) Finlay arrived at the end of last September and is just learning to crawl.
    Lilah attended a local Waldorf school last year and will be returning this September. With her baby brother being born we decided too much was going on, and that homeschooling for a year made the most sense.
    We have been at our home for two years, and there is a lot of work to do in the gardens - We have plans for extensive medicinal and dye gardens, as well as large vegetable gardens. This year we will be expanding our chicken flock and hopefully building a cob greenhouse. We are learning permaculture techniques and are looking to expand our knowledge of biodynamic agriculture.
    We have three cats, so if you have cat allergies, be warned! They are very friendly.
    Our home is located near picturesque towns of the South Shore of Nova Scotia, there are plenty of beaches and bike trails to explore.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Mainly, we are putting a lot of energy into the gardens right now. Help with the gardens, preparing beds and clearing brush are priorities. We also are building a children's play area and terracing a hillside.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, French, some Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Our house is a small farmhouse built in 1896. Options for accommodation are sleeping in a tent in the yard, or in the walk up rustic attic.

    We can provide a tent, and some bedding, but would recommend bringing your own sleeping bag.

    We eat organic foods prepared from scratch, and frequent our local farmers market every week. What we don't grow, we buy from those we know! (For the most part). Oren is gluten free and dairy free, and Caitlin is vegetarian, so we can accommodate most food sensitivities.

    We have two full bathrooms - one whose shower needs the drain sealed - a washer/dryer, full kitchen and 3 cats.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 45 min. from Halifax. The towns of Mahone Bay, Lunenburg and Chester are all very close, and there are events going on all the time!

    Guests are considered part of the family and we hope you will make yourself at home during your stay. With three small children life here is hectic and beautiful and energetic. We like to work hard, play hard and sleep hard! If you do not enjoy spending time with children, this is not the place for you!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hrs/ day

"Petita" the White duckwing phoenix chick.
Our very first batch of chicks! 5 Silver laced wyandottes, 1 Buff orpington/Partridge rock cross, 1 Speckled sussex, 1 White duckwing phoenix, 1 Silver duckwing phoenix.
Sunset over the Marina down the road.
Early June 2012, kitchen garden patch.
View of our century farmhouse with lilacs in the foreground.


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 933747332348