Help out on our organic, self-sufficient, orchard Near Gisborne, New Zealand

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 21 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.05.2020

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Tess, Carl, and baby Teddy live on a small piece of land about 10 minutes outside Gisborne. Having recently purchased a small organic orchard and had our first baby, we are looking for help around the house and with our land. At the moment a very small portion of the land is for commercial purposes and with the rest we are working towards providing as much food as possible for ourselves and our extended family, with the view to one day becoming self sufficient.
    Our family eats an entirely plant based diet and Tess teaches plant based cooking classes from our home kitchen.
    Jobs would cover the whole spectrum of growing food, as well as helping with preserving, fermenting, and dehydrating to get the most out of what we grow.
    We are also in the process of creating a closed system to grow our mushrooms, utilising all our paper waste and green matter from the orchard.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a small, diverse community with lots of opportunities to enjoy small town New Zealand culture and experience Maori culture.
    The traditional lifeways that we are working towards are things we are learn as we go, so there would be lots of opportunity to contribute ideas and learn along side us.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help with the gardens would include growing seedlings, planting, weeding, mulching the beds, making compost, looking after the worm farm, and harvesting produce. In the home orchard there would also be pruning, mowing, planting, and harvesting to be done. In the house there would be some day to day cleaning and maintenance jobs, as well as processing and preserving all the produce from the gardens and home orchard, and perhaps some child care. We would love our son to be exposed to different languages as he grows up.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have two double rooms available in the house, as well as extra beds to accommodate more people if needed. There is a separate bathroom, shower, and living area for the guests if they would like some privacy, while still being in the main house with the family. All food can be provided (as long as you can cope with a plant based diet) and eaten communally with the family.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our property is a 10 minute drive from town and city beaches, and 15 minutes from the East Coast beaches with great surfing. There are a lot of native bush areas nearby and plenty of walks to do. There is often someone driving into town but we also have bikes that you can borrow.
    Ideally you would help with jobs for 4 hours a day but no set time of day, we are happy to work around what activities you may want to do.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 928635522649