Help with a building project in a beautiful part of rural shropshire UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 102 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    14.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    160

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a smallholding, which is a registered wild life site, in South Shropshire. It is a rural location, about 9 miles from the nearest town of Ludlow.
    We are both retired, spending our time, looking after grandchildren 2 days a week and caring for 2 small ponies, an Irish Cob, Thoroughbred horse and a lurcher dog.
    We have a 12 acre Wildlife Site and this placement is based outside.
    Sometimes we do have sunshine in the UK, but lots of time will be spent outside.
    The area is beautiful and great for walking. But it is quiet, there is a pub 1/2 mile away, but there is not any public transport to towns, so you are reliant on our company!!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Learn English as a second language, learn about our culture too. Would be of benefit to someone who enjoys practical work.
    Student who have been here have appreciated our help with learning English, one student was training to become an English teacher and we helped with his assignments.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have enjoyed having 3 workaways. A girl from France helped with horses and gardened in May 2014 for 3 weeks. A boy from Spain came for 5 weeks and helped with the land and farming, in October 2015. Last year a French student came for 6 weeks helping in the meadows.

    This year Dave is building an oak framed single storey extension to the house and we are looking for someone who would enjoy helping with its construction. This will entail, some heavy lifting, basic carpentry, roofing and tiling.

    We may need some need help in the fields, cutting back undergrowth, trimming trees, weeding, fencing and some gardening too.

    I practice Natural Horsemanship with my ponies and although you do not have to have experience with this, being willing to handle them this way would be expected. On this placement I am not looking for any help with them, but if you are interested, it would be nice to have you around.

    The village is really quiet, but we do go into towns etc at least once a week and we do meet up with the rest of our family regularly. But evening entertainment is limited!!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, little French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Your accommodation would be in a self contained oak barn adjacent to our house. It has lounge, bedroom, bathroom and a basic kitchen. Wi fi and tv are available. You would be able to eat with us in the evening and always welcome in our house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Would expect the volunteer to sign a disclaimer when handling the horses, they are very gentle and well mannered but horses can be dangerous and I couldnt take responsibility for any accident that could happen.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week, flexible depending on the weather



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 927377428738