Gardening help and cultural exchange near Alton, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 270 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name's Anthony, I'm from England and I've been living in Hampshire since October 2014. I'm offering Homestay opportunities from 2021 onward for someone who is aged around 18 to 30. The house is large (4 bedrooms) and has a big garden of almost one acre. There's a single room available for you, with a study area and nice views over the countryside. I speak fluent Spanish and I have a very basic knowledge of French, Italian and Catalan.

    There's a variety of things that keep me busy here; most of it involves maintaining and improving the garden. There may also be some building projects to do so it helps if you're reasonably active and don't mind getting your hands dirty. When the weather's too bad for gardening there are usually things to do indoors such as cleaning, cooking or maybe painting. Also, you don't have to be an LGBT+ male to stay here but this is a gay-friendly place so if you're homophobic or narrow-minded then it's not for you.

    The house is in the countryside but I have a car and I can help with transport to the nearest railway stations (Alton and Basingstoke) or to the coach stop in Basingstoke. There are lots of walks and country pubs and the house has a bicycle you can use to explore the area. If you can play a piano then there is one here. There is broadband Internet, with wireless connections for laptops and smartphones.

    Usually people stay 2 weeks at a time but this is flexible too. I'm new here on Workaway but I have had 11 out of 11 positive reviews on on another similar website, so feel free to enquire and ask any questions you may have.

    Finally, because of Brexit, unless you are a British Citizen or Irish citizen, the new regulations say that you will need a visa that allows you to work in the UK. So.... if you don't have the right to work in the UK you will get asked all sorts of intrusive questions at the UK Border. A French visitor here in July 2021 was almost denied travel, so UK citizens preferred.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Happy to host both British and non-British workawayers but please read the rules about coming to the UK after Brexit. I can help with conversational practice in either English or Spanish. If you are from outside the UK then you may like to learn a little about the British way of life; we love our tea breaks. I am open-minded, with no strong political or spiritual views. I have a love of nature and a relaxed way of life.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Garden help / garden design / cutting grass / weeding / planting. Housework / help in the kitchen / cleaning. General maintenance / painting / organising.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Room: Single private room with a private study area. The main bathroom is shared but I have my own bathroom so the main one would be almost exclusively yours, depending on whether anyone else is staying.

    Food: is mostly vegetarian / pescatarian but I'm happy to cook meat for you if you prefer. I've had people staying here who are lactose intolerant and that's ok because lactose-free milk is easily available but if you are 100% vegan or if you can't tolerate *️️any*️️ dairy products then it's complicated unless you want to do all of the cooking. I like vegetarian and vegan food!

    Garden: Plenty of space to sit and chill out with a book or with your music in the large and quiet gardens. Also there is a Jacuzzi/Spa pool, which is very relaxing in the evenings.

    Usually I have just one helper here at any time but sometimes it's two. If you're travelling with a campervan then there is plenty of room to park it.

    It's a non-smoking household so please no smokers.... or be prepared to smoke outside :)

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Local transport is limited but I can help where possible, see above. If you want to visit London there are direct trains from Alton with a journey time of 75 minutes. The nearest tourist attraction is "The Watercress Line", a heritage railway which does old-style steam powered train journeys between Alton and the pretty town of Alresford. Other nearby places of interest include Alton (Jane Austen connection), Portsmouth and Winchester. If you are from *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️outside*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ the UK please note that I can't sponsor people to obtain any type of Visa from the UK Home Office.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Space for a campervan on hard surface, with electric hookup.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Flexible and voluntary

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 926383179484