Small hobby farm near Gros Morne National Park in Western Newfoundland, Canada



Bisher 68 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hi there! We are Kristi and Brad.

    Our ideal workawayers are hard-working, strong, nature-loving, independent people that don't mind working rain or shine and will give preference to those who can stay for three weeks or more. Our helpers also must love dogs since interaction/grooming of our 185 lbs Newf will be a daily occurrence.

    We live in a cabin on a lake with a 1 acre hobby farm/homestead with Shamrock, a 14 year old Cocker spaniel and Jacopo, a large, slobbery Newfoundland dog, though he is still very much a puppy mentally. We are adopting a more self sustaining lifestyle with a smaller carbon footprint. We like to manufacture, re-purpose, repair and barter as much as we can instead of contributing to our consumer-driven, disposable society. We have layer chickens year round. In summer/fall we usually raise pigs and broiler chickens. The gardens are a work in progress, but we try to grow whatever vegetables possible for this climate.

    The farm animals that live here are ultimately harvested for food, but they live a happy life and until their time is up, they are treated with respect and care. We eat a lot of eggs, pork, and moose. We have "cool" storage, so potatoes, turnip, beets and carrots from the garden are available to us most of the year--building a proper cold storage cellar eventually is on our to do list.

    Since 2017, we have welcomed guests into our home from all over the world by renting out one of our bedrooms for travelers to the area. But in 2019, we decided to try WorkAway instead during the summer months. Unfortunately, due to COVID, we did not host in 2020 or 2021.

    Summer is an extremely busy time for us, juggling the gardens, caring for the animals, property maintenance and full-time jobs. We both work in Gros Morne National Park with Brad as a hiking guide and Kristi as visitor experience support for Parks Canada.

    We are outdoor enthusiasts who appreciate joy in the little things. Knowing life is short, we'd rather focus our efforts on experiences and relationships versus material stuff. Our cabin is cozy and has all the basic essentials for us to live here year round, but it is nothing fancy and lots of areas need upgrading.

    We enjoy all types of activities including back country hiking/camping, kayaking, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, hunting and gardening. Downtime involves a lot of social time around campfires, chats about future farm projects and playing with the dogs.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We constantly try new ideas with what livestock and eco-friendly initiatives would be best suited here, and each year we gain more knowledge. For example, in 2018, we purchased a sawmill, began a vermicompost, raised 20 broiler chickens and 2 pigs, and built a potato box tower. We even smoked our own bacon and brewed some beer! We are always eager to implement sustainable practices and be more diligent/knowledgeable with the garden in 2022. Although Google is a very helpful resource, nothing beats first hand experience and would appreciate any insight from Workawayers. We have lots to share about raising chickens, and we were also very successful with our pigs three years in a row. Brad is honing his carpentry and welding skills with each project he completes (custom bookshelf, pantry, woodshed, smoker). We love inquisitive minds, and will gladly teach what we know.

  • Arbeit


    Regular tasks:
    Feed/water animals in the morning and evening
    Collect and clean eggs
    Dog sitting, grooming, assist with training
    Move animals from one area to another throughout the day, or watch over them while free ranging
    Gardening (planting, weeding, watering, harvesting)
    Wood splitting, wood stacking
    Collect firewood in the bush
    Move saw logs, assist with sawmill
    Change bedding for animals/muck out pens
    Turn compost pile
    Lawn cutting
    Trail cutting/brush burning
    Rock picking
    "spring" cleaning in the house (on rainy days)
    canning vegetables

    Special projects for 2022:
    Create a dry creek bed
    Construct cold frames and greenhouse
    Build fence around property
    Construct raised beds and planters

    We will expect 5 hours of work, 5 days a week. Cooking and doing dishes will be a shared responsibility in addition to the 25 hours per week.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    ~A private room upstairs with a double bed and dresser or
    - Outside in a tent

    (smoking is permitted outside only)

    We have very poor cell reception on our property, but we have reliable, fast internet and a landline phone.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Staying here will offer opportunities to connect with nature, experience cabin country living, and gear down to a slower pace. Our property is across the road from the lake which is amazingly refreshing for a summer swim. We have two kayaks that guests can borrow. Evening campfires under the stars are a regular occurrence.

    We are located a scenic 30 minute drive from Gros Morne National Park, a UNESCO world heritage site, which is filled with hiking trails for all levels and beautiful landscapes. It is definitely a special place to visit, and we can provide lots of customized advice on what to do.

    Since our property is off the beaten path (2 kilometers away from the highway on a gravel road in a rural area and 20 minutes by highway to nearest town), Workawayers with their own transportation would be best suited here. There is no public transportation. However, workawayers are welcome to tag along during their days off/down time to wherever we are headed. We drive to and from Gros Morne National Park regularly and into Deer Lake/Corner Brook for supplies once every 7-10 days.

    Any questions? Just ask!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We can accommodate campervans!

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Depends on the details.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 923879542634