Experience island life and the community of Lismore, Scotland

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 1797 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    128  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    94.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of four: Yorick, my husband, our two sons, Tom and Ruben who are now mostly away on their own adventures and I'm Sarah. We also live with Amy who came to us as workaways but now lives here too.
    We own a beautiful 46 acre croft on a Scottish Island called Lismore. It is a long, slim island which sits within loch Linnhe. It is easy to get to; (5 min from Appin and 50 min from Oban by boat). Oban is accessible by train or coach from Glasgow. It is a lush, fertile island with incredible views of the surrounding mountains and waters including a great view of Ben Nevis .
    Our vision is to create a biodiverse, beautiful and inspirational nugget of Scotland where we can live self sufficiently and gently on the land. However, we have a lot to do to get there and need plenty of help. We have more or less completed the croft house build: a project which has consumed our last six years and which we could not have completed without the enormous help and generosity of so many workaway helpers. The house has turned out great. It is light, warm and full of character.
    There is still much to do around the house though. We need to clear and landscape the surrounding area and create a flower garden and orchard. We need to maintain the extensive veggie garden which includes a greenhouse and poytunnel and we need to dig a pond.
    We also have a coppice wood to maintain, a forest garden in its infancy, a small flock of sheep and a number of hens.

    I am a textile artist and run my business from a studio on the croft. I make lampshades and cushions which are ordered online and also create bespoke commissions. My husband, Yorick, is a carpenter with skills in mechanics, electrics, plumbing, plastering and sound engineering.

    We also share our home with Buzz, a characterful terrier and Spyro, a loud mouthed and demanding cat who can't get enough cuddles...and cheese! If you are allergic to cats, dogs, dust or pollen it's best to steer clear of here.

    We are easy going, sociable and all love and play music.

    We are mainly vegetarian but sometimes eat our own lamb or meat reared on the island.

    ** In order to comply with restrictions due to Covid, many of the activities mentioned below have been cancelled until an unknown future date when it is deemed safe to resume.

    The community of Lismore is a vibrant and sociable one with a population of around 180. There are lots of activities including cinema nights, country dancing, house ceilidh's, concerts and more but be warned, there is no pub on the island and only one shop. There are lots of beautiful walks on the island and plenty places to wild swim.
    Sarah runs the community choir so singers are always welcome. Everybody knows each other here and it is a bit like a very large family.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Helpers have the opportunity to experience island life, the community of Lismore and an alternative way of living with a focus on creativity and living in balance with nature.
    We can also offer experience and plenty of tips in whichever work you find yourself focusing on. We are constantly learning, experimenting and evolving in our approach to food growing, gardening and land management. Every day brings a new discovery and so we hope that all those involved will find their time here to be enriching and educational.
    You can also witness the working of a small textile design business although help is not required in this arena.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for robust, healthy, hard working volunteers with a love of nature and the great outdoors. We are particularly keen on finding helpers with experience, interest or ability in the following areas: Horticulture, Gardening, Permiculture, Landscaping, Forest gardening, tree management.
    These are the specific tasks needing attention and you are likely to focus on one or more of them while you are here:
    Creating a flower garden - (digging beds, moving rocks, enriching soil, planting, weeding, growing seeds, pruning, dividing,strimming, building paths)
    Veggie gardening - (weeding, planting, enhancing soil, harvesting, watering)
    Landscaping - ( moving rocks, building a retaining wall, building a hot tub, building a pizza oven)
    Orchard - Tending to the trees
    Forest garden - tending to the trees
    Coppice wood - tending to the trees
    Sheep - observing, ocassional treatment
    House - building decking, upkeep and maintenance.
    Croft - Dyke building a repair, thistleing, scything, fencing
    We welcome musicians because we are musical ourselves so that is a bonus although not completely necessary.
    Our climate is a wet and windy one although we do enjoy spells of dry and warm so this is an opportunity for tough grafters rather than tender types. However I think the stunning views and constantly changing light more than makes up for the weather.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have three spare rooms in the house; two double bedrooms and a smaller room with a bunk bed.
    All the rooms are comfortable and warm. There are plenty of communal spaces for resting or socialising in the house. We do not have a TV but watch films on a projector sometimes. We have a piano and plenty of musical instruments which you are welcome to play.
    We have two bathrooms and a compost toilet, a big bath and a walk in shower.
    We share cooking a cleaning duties.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Please note: All travellers from outside the EU planning to "Workaway" in the UK are required by law to obtain a voluntary work visa. We are happy to assist your application by writing letters of invite etc. Please contact your country's embassy for further information.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have plenty space to park up and it is close to an electricity port and access to water.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We can potentially host a dog but only if it is totally chilled with sheep. Not only do we have sheep ourselves but so does every farm around us and it is nice to be on good terms with our neighbours!

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














































































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 922521644823