French or English teacher needed in a little town near Barcelona, Spain




Bisher 251 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

  • Beschreibung


    Thanks for reading our profile.

    IMPORTANT: My calendar is updated, please don't aply for months which appear as unavailable.

    THE HELP: Looking for ONE volunteer to teach French or English.
    I can teach you Spanish if you are interested.
    -we host for one week only. Two if we get on very well.
    -preferably female and older than 30 but we take all applicants into consideration.
    -my calendar is updated. Apply only for the available months.

    I am Ana, a 40 year old Primary school teacher. I work part time in a public school and I also give private English lessons after school for teenagers who need to pass exams. It's important for me to keep my English alive because of that. I'm also learning French and I would like to improve it. My French level is between B1 / B2.

    Emilio is my husband, he works in DHL and likes history and geography a lot. He also has a passion for collecting coins. It's hard to connect with him as he does not speak any language besides Spanish or Catalan, (bonus for you to practice). If he treats you for "churros", that means he absolutely liked you, but if not, don't worry.

    We own two cats, so mind it if you have allergies.

    We live in a little flat in La Llagosta, a town right next to Barcelona. You can easily get to the city centre by train in 15-20 minutes. The town is really safe and friendly, don't think it's unsafe because it's a suburb. People here like travellers because they don't get as many as in Barcelona city. They are welcoming and will be nice to you.

    Our place is convenient if you are looking forward exploring Barcelona but having a quiet place to rest after with REAL locals. Also, this is a good volunteering opportunity if you don't expect doing hard or physical work or if you need to continue to work remotely as you'll have plenty of free time, and the house is commonly quiet.
    If we get along, you will be kindly invited to my daily life, and also to join during activities at the weekend if you feel like it.

    If you are a Spanish language learner with at least the ability to have a simple conversation in Spanish (I guess B1 level), we might be the right choice. I say "might" because if you are not a native in any of the languages I am looking for improving, maybe better let me know what you can offer as a Workawayer and we will discuss an arrangement :)

    I am willing to teach you Spanish if it's your wish to learn. We can just have conversations or go deeply into de grammar. I know how to do that.

    If all or part of the above proposed does not sound like a plan to you, but you are worth meeting, (sounds weird you should decide if you are worth meeting, right?), and you want to pay a visit, you can still come.
    I also host workawayers passing by who are in between missions and need a place to crash.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten


  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are a catalan couple (both born in Barcelona), but our families are originary from different parts of Spain. We grew up with different cultural backgrounds, the one the learnt from our parents and the one we were taught at school. We offer you a cultural exchange in which you can learn about spanish and catalan culture at the same time.
    We can explain both spanish and catalan history and customs. We know our region well and can show you places or recommend visits. We can guide you on tours around Barcelona if you are a fan but with the restrictions we will see as we go.

    We will cook typical spanish and catalan food for you too if you are brave enough to taste anything. Previous volunteers told me I should warn others that my place is not suitable if you are on a diet because here it's likely you put on weight.

    How to get from the airport to our house:
    In the airport, go to terminal 2 and find the train station there (follow the orange sign with an R). Take the only train there and you will travel to my place in 45 minutes. Stop in La Llagosta.

    The best way to travel from my place to Barcelona is by train. Remember trains are working from 5:00 AM to 00:00.

  • Arbeit


    If you are a native in English, I only expect a language exchange in which we correct each other. I am a C1 level in English.

    If you can teach French, I would like to use also some textbooks to understand more the grammar as my level is currently B1.

    Please, when you contact me specify:
    -the language you can share or any other skill you think you can exchange, even if it's insignificant, maybe it's not.
    -your working experience or volunteer experience.
    -about you (do you come to barcelona for pleasure/ studies/ gap year?)
    -things you would like from us, like learning spanish, hang aroung, drive you to places, etc.

    ALSO: I need to find information about you in your profile. I won't be impressed by an empty profile and even worse when I know you actually paid an annual fee for that.

    The perfect volunteer for me should be a person who:
    -Is commited to our appointments.
    -Likes sharing the house with my cats.
    -Knows how to share and contribute equally to chores.
    -Is a bit crazy sometimes and has sense of humour and irony.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Catalan: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I can teach Spanish :) If you are travelling to learn Spanish, we can arrange a language exchange. If that's the case, and both of us are going to teach each other a language, we should agree on the conditions of your stay.

  • Unterkunft


    You'll have your own room and your privacy.

    We only have one bathroom at home so we'll have to share it. You'll have access to wifi. Inside your room there is a big desk in case you need to work or study.
    We provide linen, blankets, pillow, towels and more things depending on how long your stay will be.
    We live in a 7th floor and there are 2 lifts in the building. It's convenient if you are travelling using your own transport as there are good spots to park outside.

    -We provide accommodation + meals the days you volunteer. I can't say how many meals if any because everything depends of our arrangement and how much each part contributes to it.

    -We are unable to cook for vegetarians, vegans or very picky eaters (sorry). If you are not planning to share meals with us, you are welcome though.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are many sights you can easily visit from our place:
    -Barcelona: 15-20 min by train.
    -Costa Brava: 1 hour by train.
    -Montserrat: 1'5 hours by train / bus.
    -Girona and Tarragona: 1 hour by train.
    -Dalí Museum: 1'5 hours by train.
    -Pyrennees: 3 hours by train.
    -Port Aventura: 1'15 hours by train / bus.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    My workaway experience is perfect if you need to work remotely. I have good wifi and you'll have your own desk and privacy. I don't expect our arrangement to take more than 3 hours per day maximum, so you'll have plenty of time for your own things. We work, so the house should be quiet a great part of the day.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    A cat only because I have cats.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 2 hours a day, 6 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 914448946631