Help on our small farm near Penamacor, Portugal



Bisher 124 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    Hi there!

    Olives and Acorns is a smallholding on 5 hectares of stunning countryside in Castelo Branco region of Central Portugal. It's been 5 years since we've started our journey, and we finally feel like we know a bit more about what we are doing and can pass that knowledge along.

    We've started our farm enamoured with principles of permaculture, but the project evolved into a mishmash of different agricultural ideas, homesteading methods and anything else that works in harsh dry Portuguese summers. We are loving our experiments and are constantly looking how to improve things even more!

    I guess you can say that we are a homestead, aiming for as much self-sufficiency as possible, growing veg organically all year round, raising livestock for food, preserving what we harvest and building infrastructure when and as needed.

    We keep sheep, pigs, goats, chickens, ducks, quail, 3 adorable and well behaved dogs and a mob of farm cats. They are all well loved, free to roam and cared for really well. We respect people who follow principles of vegetarianism and veganism, but please be aware, that in spring and autumn we do slaughter our excess livestock for food. If you want to volunteer at this time of year, we'll either give days off at that time if you don't want to participate, or show you the ropes if you want to learn those particular skills.

    We milk our goats, make cheese, soap, cream, butter, ice cream.

    We scythe, shear sheep, garden, make a ton of preserves, dry and ferment fruit, make sorbets, do some building work, clearing, tree planting, fencing, decorating with folk art, take care of our animals, fish in local lakes, do crafts and party, of course!

    We've pretty much finished with heavy duty building work, and instead are looking for people to help us with our day to day chores, so we can slow down after hectic first 5 years. So, if you are energetic and enthusiastic individual/couple with interesting skills or a trade, we would love to have you here. We are looking for minimum of 2 weeks stay and up to 6 weeks depending on how we would get along.

    You will have a comfortable caravan to stay, a communal shower and kitchen with a patio area, a composting toilet and access to a washing machine. We have books, TV series, movies and Internet. You will be making your own breakfast, but we'll provide lunch and dinner 5 days a week you work with us. We'd expect you to make your own meals from our produce on your days off.

    If you have your own transportation, caravan/motorhome, there is plenty of space on our land where you can park up. The local village has a bus stop with buses going to the nearest towns twice a day, it's also a perfectly idyllic countryside for cycling. Monsanto medieval village, Boom festival, Penamacor, Castelo Branco are all within 20-40 km radius from us.

    We love making good food from many different cuisines, so if your cooking or baking skills are rusty, we'll be happy to share our knowledge.

    We are in a secluded property but don't consider ourselves isolated at all. We are lucky to have a solid community of like-minded people around, and there will be many social gatherings you are welcome to attend with us during your stay.

    There is a simple, friendly atmosphere and down to earth, practical experience for those who need one in order to move onto your own adventure. We cook meat or fish 3-4 days a week, and vegetarian meals other times. If you are vegan, please let us know in advance as we best can accommodate you in summer months when there is a lot of produce in the garden. We would probably have an arrangement in place where we cook for you a couple of times a week but supply you with the ingredients from the garden the rest of the time so you can cook what you need yourself.

    If you have any questions, just email us and we'll be happy to help! Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Cheers ,
    Alex and Karina

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn how to manage a small-holding confidently and about a myriad of tasks involved in it :) You can learn new skills and meet a lot of great like-minded people. We are here for extra help and hoping to learn some new skills from you too! We would love to practice our Portuguese if you speak it. All the best, Alex and Karina

  • Arbeit


    You would need to help with general chores on the farm: garden maintenance, animal care, and projects dictated by seasons: building, harvesting, making preserves, planting, collecting wood, etc. We are looking for a couple/a person at certain times of the year for a variety of tasks. A few days house/farm sitting might be involved.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    Russian: Fließend
    Portuguese: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    A comfortable caravan, a communal shower, kitchen, patio with a composting toilet.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are lakes and parks around and one of the most beautiful medieval villages in Portugal, Monsanto. Spanish border is very close. Lots of interesting villages to explore on a bicycle. Medium sized towns of Penamacor and Idanha-a-Nova, big cities of Castelo Branco and Fundao. Stunning countryside.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Custard and fruit pie
Making goat milk soap
Our herb bed is a work in progress
Grinning dogs, Snow and Lilac. They are having way too much fun!
Last year's olive harvest of 1400 kg.
Patio and communal kitchen area
View from your caravan
Your neighboring sheep
Double trouble, Jezzi and Rocket, eating brambles off neighbor's land
Giant Italian pumpkin climbing an orange tree in last summer's garden
This season's peas and mangetout
Vietnamese potbellied pigs
Land's bounty: fragrant roses, quail eggs, duck eggs and chocolate banana bread just out of the oven

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 278985152993