Homestead forest stay in Portland, Canada

  • Bisher 13 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 29 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Melissa and I am so happy to meet with you! I have a young son and a quaint little homestead placed in a quiet forest. I enjoy foraging, hunting, fishing, gardening and all things nature. I have a small acreage with a small flock of laying hens that always put a smile on my face (unless they are in my garden grrrr).

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will see the importance of learning to be self-sufficient and taking into practice life living off the land. Ill be setting up vermicomposting and hot composting which are amazing back to nature learning experiences (ever seen a worm egg?!). Ill soon be raising more chickens right from the incubator, so you can see them in each growing stage. I'm also going to be in the process of starting my own honeybee hiives. This is an English speaking home, so if you need help practicing English I'll happily assist. Homemade soaps, homemade kumbucha, the homemade list can go on! Lets learn and grow together.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    **Note: my preference is short term stays only of a max of no more than 1-2 weeks**

    Summer is on its way! This cute little homestead has so much room to grow, nestled on 9 acres in a beautiful forest. I am looking to have some help around the great outdoors, some wood needs to be split still. With the abundance of trees, leaves and sticks need to be cleaned up. My new garden has been planned but its time to to continue digging. I can help teach the importance of composting and we can take walks together in the forest to gather herbs and mushrooms for my up and coming classes I will be presenting to local friends and patrons. I have a small background in culinary management so I love to learn about taking what we grow and forage for to the kitchen. I have a small flock of chickens that need daily care and love, so you'll be helping with egg collection and keeping their space clean.

    I have a little 8 year old boy who thus far has loved learning from the workawayers that have stayed with us. I appreciate those who stay taking time to play and spend time with him too.

    I work a daily job for the weekdays, from 9am - 5pm, you will also have to be self reliant/ self motivated and work well alone during the day.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have your own bedroom in my family home. It has enough space for you to retreat in if you wish to wind down on your own. Complete with double bed, side table, dresser and a single comfy chair you could read in by a large bright window on the second floor. You will share general areas like the living space, kitchen, and bathroom. The kitchen is fully equipped with your daily tools needed to make meals or a simple cup of tea in. I will provide you with cooked meals and fresh food. My preference is one person only but I will consider accommodating a couple, please reach out first.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Although a new experience for myself, I've heard wonderful experiences with friends from the work away program. I look forward to hearing from you! When you have time off, be weary that I am far from a lot of things, but if you look up information on the Rideau Lakes Area you will find its beauty in visiting the many lakes and small town shops. Old heritage buildings, sites and museums. Depending on the time of year you visit, there's boat tours on the lakes too once they open up. The only transportation from my place is by hiring cabs, as I will not be available to drive you. You will have access to a bicycle to use to get to the nearby town if you would like. Take this as an opportunity to live simply and with tranquility with quiet and with peace.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Starlink internet wifi connection available

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    I do not have any hookup that you can use (no electricity or water hookup) but I do have the space if you wish to stay in your own camper. Please be polite with sound pollution as this is a quiet homestead. Also please respect the environment by only running your vehicle/ generators when necessary.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 899811616875

Feedback (3)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Help with gardening in the Cowichan Valley, Vancouver Island, BC, Canada
Help at a refuge for wild animals in Quebec, Canada