Help us with our home and garden renovation project in Charente Maritime, France

Country

Frankreich

aktualisiert  

Bisher 82 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.11.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a young, semi-retired couple - Glyn & Alan and not forgetting our cat Tiggy. Our Charentaise house and barns are in a very pretty little hamlet and you can walk into the local village in 10 minutes via a track through sunflower and maize fields.

    Our nearest beach is 15 minutes by car and the Islands of LÎlle d'Oléron and Îlle d'Ré are just 30 - 40 minutes drive. Its very quiet and picturesque where we live and opposite is a wood with 3 natural springs. At night you can hear the owls calling to each other and in the day the tapping of woodpeckers. The nearest large towns are Saintes 20 minutes by car and Royan on the coast 15 minutes by car.

    We would welcome a volunteer (or a couple) to help us out with our project and in return we can provide accommodation and food.

    Alan is a semi-retired construction project manager who has worked all of his life on large building projects in and around central London so plenty of guidance and knowledge is available.

    I was a company director and I organised bespoke tours, holidays and weddings in southern Italy. Since moving to France I have rekindled my love of art - oils, watercolour, acrylic, mixed media, collage and mosaics and I am currently organising a Painting Holiday in France for 2022.

    We have 4 children and 7 wonderful grandsons spread far and wide across the globe and we love it when they are able to visit us.

    Food will be provided. A car is a necessity as there is no bus in the village.

    There is a nice mobile home on site that has a double bedroom, bathroom with shower, separate toilet with washbasin, comfortable lounge and kitchen. Wifi is available.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Alan is more than happy to pass on his knowledge about construction and building so if this is something you are involved in you may find it very useful, especially so if you are studying to be a Construction Project Manager or Site Manager and want to work in construction.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We would like some general help with renovating our house, barn and garden. This may involve tasks like mixing concrete, moving materials around the site, ground-clearing, cutting back hedges and trees using our machinery, planting, wall building, path laying. There will be the opportunity to learn lots of different skills if you so wish.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There is a 38ft caravan home on site with a double bedroom. There is a bathroom with small step in bath and shower over, separate toilet and washbasin, kitchen area, dining area and a lounge. It is very comfortable. Wifi is available. There is a DVD player in the mobile home.

    There are cooking facilities in the mobile home with a new fridge, microwave, toaster and 1 burner hob and an electric kettle. We will provide food and accommodation.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is always something happening in Saujon, Royan and Saintes. Our local village is quite quiet, however, it does have a bar which is also the local shop, cafe and post office. There is a cinema night once a month (in French) in the library and the Pizza Man arrives every Thursday evening and parks his van on the church car park. You can always take your pizza and eat it in the bar and watch football if there are any international matches. The bar owner is English. Opposite the bar is a patisserie for croissants, pastries and fresh bread.

    Nearby and just a very short bike ride away is the extremely picturesque Augustinian Abbey of Sablonceaux which dates back to 1136.

    Our nearest airports are La Rochelle which is 40 minutes drive and Poitiers and Bordeaux which are both 1 1/2 hrs drive. La Rochelle itself is an amazing town and it has a great aquarium, beaches, restaurants, port and 2 cinemas.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hrs a day, 2 days off




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 898889485312