Help me set up my garden in West Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

new host  

Bisher 7 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

    noch nicht bewertet
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.09.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    After retiring from teaching, I moved to West Wales last November and bought my dream home. It's an old cottage which needs some work and an acre of garden, most of which hasn't been touched in a while.
    It is set amid the hills overlooking the Teifi valley and half a mile from any neighbours up an un-made track, so perfect for escaping from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!
    The small town of Lampeter is just over two and a half miles away. The Ceridigion coast is 13 miles to the west and the Cambrian mountains, a similar distance to the east. Fantastic for walking or cycling, the scenery is beautiful.
    The cottage has its own borehole for water and partial solar power. I plan to become more self-sufficient, using permaculture principles, with raised beds ( the ground here is mostly stone and shale) , reinstating the existing polytunnel and adding a fruit cage, planting a variety of fruit and nut trees, a willow arbour, installing water saving systems and creating a wildlife pond.
    I would love to hear from volunteers who may be familiar with some of these projects and who don't mind some hard work!
    If you enjoy peace and quiet then you will love 'Bwlch y gwynt'

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Exploring the magical area that is West Wales is a wonderful experience, and one which I am still enjoying very much having only recently moved here. This is Welsh speaking area but English is also spoken everywhere. The pace of life is slower, people have time to chat and there are strong permaculture / climate change awareness groups in the area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am hoping to find a couple of volunteers who can help with any of the following: making raised beds from pallets, digging difficult ground for planting a few fruit/ nut trees, clearing brush, laying gravel or bark pathways, planting fruit and veg. clearing out old pond and creating a new one, building water saving sytems, chopping / laying hedges.....

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    There are two bedrooms, one double, one twin, for volunteers to use and a pretty vintage caravan to either sleep in or use as a place to sit and chat, make a cup of tea etc. There is a newly installed bathroom but no shower, as yet.
    Volunteers can make use of the kitchen in the cottage to cook their own food and I will provide a continental breakfast each morning. There are two supermarkets in Lampeter for food shopping.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Volunteers may like to walk or cycle in the mountains or enjoy the Ceredigion coastal path. Dolphins can be spotted in Cardigan Bay and there are a number of pretty coastal towns nearby.
    The University town of Aberystwyth is a bus ride away and there are free long distance buses at weekends.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 896789752715