Hundeliebhaber? Komm und hilf uns in der Nähe von kleiner Stadt Logan Lake und 50 min. von Kamloops entfernt, BC, Kanada



Bisher 275 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    Close to the small town of Logan Lake BC and 50 minutes from a larger central BC town of Kamloops/ We live with 55 working sled dogs on 26 acres in the middle of the highland valley plateau in British Columbia. It is very quiet here! There is no shopping, movies or restaurants!! Just birds song, the wind in the trees, and dogs. Lots of them. Our dogs are wonderful friendly loving animals. We spend lots of time exercising them, and loving them up in the off season.
    There is plenty of lakes and trails around to hike, bike and fish. The area is renowned for it's excellent fly fishing and it's big starry night sky.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will benefit by experiencing a remote rural BC property... but mostly,... you will be immersed in the world of working sled dogs. Sleddogs are an enormous part of our Canadian heritage. Taking care of exceptional canine athletes is very involved and there is much to learn from this.

  • Arbeit


    While I list cooking and help in the house, this is just part of being part of the team here. We all take turns with the daily chores of living! Primarily we want help with the dogs. The dogs need to be fed, cleaned, brushed, exercised and LOVED! This will occupy most of your time. These dogs are team members in a busy winter touring operation. By the time spring rolls around they will have about 2000 miles under their harness, so from May thru August it is their holiday time. There will be lots to learn about sled dogs and sled dog husbandry. Our kennel has unparalleled dog care and the summer is just as active as the winter. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Except for August which is too hot for the dogs to do much. August is the "boring"' month where we have lots of siestas. This is also the time when we paint and repair things .
    In September, we start conditioning the dogs with the quad. It is a very busy time. The dogs have been free running all summer, but come September we get up early when it is still cold out, and while we still free run at this time, we also start hooking the dogs up and doing some runs in harness.

    Kamloops and surrounding area is in the dry interior of British Columbia. It is ranching country, with lots of grasslands, lakes, and pine and fir forests. Wild horses and cows. It can get very hot here in the summer but the property is high, (4000 feet) so it cools off most nights. In September, it is not uncommon to see early morning ( 5 am) temperatures of below freezing, with noon day temps as high as 25 degrees celsius.

    Please note! Volunteering with sled dogs is ROUGH AND TUMBLE DIRTY. If you don't like being dirty, if you don't like being sweaty, if you're worried about breaking a nail, .. this is not the place for you! But if you love dogs, love being outside all day getting dirty... then you'll love it here.

    We have internet but it is limited.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will be living in a cute little cabin on the top of the hill where the star gazing is the best! It is a dry cabin and heated by wood stove. This will be your private space, but you will take all meals, and shower and hang out at the house, which is a 2 minute walk from the your "detached bedroom" We do have internet, but it is satellite internet and so it is limited time per day. Besides, we hope that you join us to enjoy the great outdoors and the dogs.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We ask that volunteers are non smokers, and they MUST LOVE DOGS! The dogs are what it is all about.
    We also ask that volunteers commit to at least one month.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours a day with the dogs/dog related chores and time spent contributing to the Daily Tasks of Living.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 889775594817