Come and be a part of our family and enjoy cultural exchange on our farm in Jämtland, Sweden

Country

Schweden

aktualisiert  

Bisher 766 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    29.05.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    98.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    A warm and welcoming home in Mid-Sweden where, in winter and early spring, we offer a wide range of jobs to choose from, e.g. wood chopping/cutting, decluttering, painting, snow shovelling, bale burning, picking up at school, sewing, some child-minding, cooking, tidying up, language tuition....


    The four of us - Christina, Pelle, daughters Kerstin and Harriet, aged 8 and 7, live on a farm on an island (circumference: 13 kilometres, population about 150) in the wondrously beautiful countryside of the county of Jämtland, some 600 kilometres north of the Swedish capital Stockholm. A few years ago, we set about converting one of the houses (now: the Workawayers' house, the red one in our photos) into a B and B-to-be and a language school catering to students and others who wish to acquire Swedish in placidly rural surroundings. Although this house is more comfortable than simply inhabitable, there are still, oddly enough, an ever-increasing number of small jobs waiting to be finished, things that we have a bad habit of deferring: internal and some external painting, sewing of curtains and some fairly simple building work.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Splendid opportunity for those interested to learn Swedish, through instruction if they wish, and practise conversational Swedish

    A great time with an easy-going family, including two amiable children

    A deeper understanding of life in Swedish society

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Apart from help in the above-mentioned Red House, there are countless other tasks of various sizes and complexity to grapple with here, e.g. 14 farm buildings yearning to get their fair share of maintenance, hedge-trimming, wood cutting, painting, decluttering, snow shovelling, the building of snowmen, etc, etc... Some of these tasks require a little bit of expertise, whereas most of them can be dispatched by anyone blessed with a bit of stamina. We are easygoing DIY-ers ourselves and through our own mistakes we have acquired a good deal of humility with regard to asking others for advice.
    Help with cooking, vacuuming and cleaning, esp. in winter, would also be greatly appreciated.

    Both our children are fairly proficient speakers of English. We (and they themselves) are keen to continue their anglophone language immersion, which has been made possible by long stay au pairs and visiting workawayers over the last three years. With us, such qualities as willingness to contribute to what needs to be done here and an interest in the things we have to offer carry more weight than, for example, your language background. Generelly speaking, however, native speakers of English (for reasons stated above) or of Italian or German are particularly welcome as Pelle would be delighted at an opportunity to brush up on his dormant college knowledge of German and conversational uni Italian.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Swedish, English, some Italian, German and a smattering of Irish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can accomodate up to 3 volunteers at a time. Families with children are also welcome. You will have the comfort of your own room in the warm, fully equipped Workawayers' house adjacent to the main building. There, you will be able to access the Internet via our broadband. The house has its own kitchen so, although we hope you'll want to have most dinners and sometimes lunches together with us, you can do your own cooking whenever you might feel like it.
    We have breakfast at the crack of dawn on Mondays - Fridays and prefer to be just the four of us at that particular hour - some of us tend to exhibit a certain grumpiness during the earliest hours of morning;)
    Our place also boasts a comfy woodburning sauna in which any weary workawayer is welcome to be revived after a day's work.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The farm is located on an island within easy reach (about 15 kilometres) of the town of Östersund, once a year host to one of Sweden’s largest music festivals “Storsjöyran”.
    As relative newcomers/home comers, we are keen to explore the area with you and show you some of the local musts, such as the surrounding mountains, ski resorts, cultural events, etc.

    Christina graduated from The Royal School of Fine Arts in 2014 and has since embarked on a number of art projects in Jämtland. Pelle works for an NGO promoting intercultural integration in Stockholm and is trained as a teacher of Swedish as a second language. He has thorough experience of tutoring students at various levels of proficiency, so while you are here, you will find ample opportunity to pick up Swedish in an organised or disorganised manner, should you wish to do so.

    Some light housework will, rather reasonably, be expected of you. We all have own pet hates or preferences within the area of domestic work. We are certain that, through honest and clear communication, we can devise an arrangement together with you - perhaps during a premilinary webcam conversation - that will keep all of us happy as Larry.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Skilfully excavated trenches, Johanna! They are certainly making life a great deal easier round the house.
Anna, hosting you was a true pleasure. Thanks for your eagerly helping out with whatever we suggested to you: burning hay bales, painting chairs, cooking, decluttering, child-minding, etc, etc. We all miss you and hope to see you soon again.
Excellent work, James! Best of luck in New Zealand
Thank you, Emelie, for your enterprise, help and fun company!
Your potential hosts

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)















Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 886194311453