Come join our family in Espoo, Finland

Country

Finnland

Bisher 255 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.11.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1289

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi Workawayers!

    We are a multilingual family of 4 humans, 1 dog, and 1 cat in Espoo, Finland.

    I am opinionated and like a good debate. I like to blog and sing. I am interested in meeting new people, and engaging in debates and discussions on just about any topic. I love cooking, and if you stay with us, I'd love to provide meals. Our family is vegan/vegetarian, but we don't mind if you bring non-veg things to our house. However, we do prefer if you don't cook meaty things.

    My husband is an architect, and can probably tell you all you need to know about Finnish architecture. He also likes to sculpt and paint.

    Our son, Monn (3.2009) and our daughter, Mai (11.2010) love to make new friends. In fact, they are often disappointed if our guests only stay for a day or two. Our small dog, Otso, is either a circus dog or a panda bear (not sure which) and gets real excited when someone takes him out for a walk. Cashew the cat can't get enough loving, and will gladly spend time purring on your lap.

    We like to enjoy long evenings sipping wine after the two kids have gone to bed, and when we get a chance we also practice a few songs from our repertoire.

    I work at an NGO where I am part of a team that coordinates volunteers for projects with youth, the elderly, asylum seekers, immigrants, the disabled, etc. What's unique about our programme is that we don't have fixed tasks, so we often get very creative and create tasks to suit our volunteers. So we'd definitely be able to find some meaningful volunteer work for a workawayer.

    Our guest room is also my husband's workshop, so we can only host for 1-3 weeks at a time. However, we are open to the idea of you going elsewhere for 2-3 weeks and coming back again for another stay, for those of you who are traveling for longer periods of time!

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Bauarbeiten
    Kinderbetreuung
    Altenpflege
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can cook Thai, fusion & vegan food together, and I can teach you English or Thai. I'm also a humanitarian, a philosopher and a linguist by training. I'm happy to share my thoughts on just about any topic & I love a good dialogue. I am eternally engaged in the pursuit of knowledge! There is no 'off switch' for that! I work for a large NGO as a project manager, so I can also introduce you to my job & potentially find a task for you to do there.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    - You can help out with tasks such as babysitting, getting the kids to and from school, housework, and looking after our pets.
    - If you have carpentering skills, we have a couple projects we'd like to get started.
    - If you know how to interpret, I can use Dari, Farsi & Arabic interpreters for a project at work.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    Thai, English, Spanish, Finnish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Come as you are! We are happy to provide towels, sheets, basic toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc), food, drinks. If you need to do laundry, you are welcome to our washer and dryer. We also have a couple bikes you can borrow.

    You'd have a private room with a sofa bed (double). If need be, we have an extra mat, too.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The area we live in is good for suburban walks to nearby bars or quiet walks through the forest - both tastes are catered for. If you want to explore other parts of the capital city region, we are well connected. Our home also has a sauna, which you are welcome to use!

    It takes 20 minutes by bus to the Kamppi bus terminal in the Helsinki city centre from our home, and busses go every ten minutes or so. We are a 5 minute walk from the stop. Buses 121 & 122 (There may be a letter following the number, that's ok) go during the day, and 154N goes after midnight. They all stop in front of the Kuitinmäki S-market, which is a supermarket near our house.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 2 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 882973589839