Help with language practice, gardening and other projects at our Himalayan homestay and farm in the village of Jibhi, India

Country

Indien

Bisher 117 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.09.2021

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Greetings from the Himalayas! My name is Simone from California originally. I am now living and working together with a local family here in India. Narayan and his family are nestled at 1800 meters in the village of Jibhi in Banjar Valley. We have created a home-stay consisting of three eco-friendly guest cottages Built with stone, cedar pine and mud with views of the mountains and river. Besides the cottages we are busy with organic farming on the surrounding land. Fruit trees plus a variety of vegetables and flowers.

    I have another work-away profile you can check out to know more about me for Simone's Kitchen in Antwerp, Belgium. I have spent the last 3 years there and now with the restaurant and B&B running I have returned to India to develop further the projects I started here more than 7 years ago. My passion is plant-based cooking and healthy lifestyle. I practice yoga and love to hike in the surrounding nature.

    There is so much to do here as we continue to grow and expand our project, we are busy with a forth cottage as well as a new kitchen not to mention the house I am building further up the mountain in the village of Dhar. We would like to have someone who appreciates a natural rustic lifestyle that isn't afraid of work and is interested in learning about the local culture and way of life to come join us.

    In exchange for 5 hours/day 5 days/week we can provide food and a lovely sleeping room with spacious shared veranda and detached bathroom with hot shower, toilet and sink.

    We prefer longer stays as it takes time for people to settle into life in India.


    About the area
    Countless treks and day hikes. Forests, rivers and waterfalls. Jalori Pass is just 10 km up the road with fantastic views at 3,150 meters. From there you can hike to Raghupur fort and Sreul lake. You can also visit Chaihani fort, which is a 1600 year old 13 story fort built exclusively with wood and stone.

    The Climate
    This area is beautiful and warm from April thru October. The rainy season is approximately mid July to beginning of Sept. In November it starts to get cold at night and in the mornings but days are most often warm and sunny. The wood burning stove gets installed in November which makes it warm and cozy. So visiting in the winter is also an option.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    India is a very special place to spend time not only to learn about the rich Indian culture but also to learn about yourself.
    The local people of Himachal Pradesh enjoy a hard working yet relaxed lifestyle. They live a simple good life close to the land. Locals farm and raise animals. Run home-stays and guide treks to show visitors the amazing nature.

    The local culture is still alive here and we are doing what we can to foster the preservation of their traditional ways. For example grains are milled to flour in traditional water mills set on the edge of the small rivers and streams, oxen are used to till the land for farming, traditional garments are woven on hand-looms, etc
    It is wonderful to learn about the local flora and fauna, to explore the mountains and visit the local surrounding villages and temples.

    As western culture creeps in it is increasingly important to recognize and value the local traditional ways, I believe that when visitors (such as yourself) show genuine interest in the local culture this also fosters the locals to take pride and preserve their traditions.

    You can learn some of the local language and also Hindi which is widely spoken here.

    I love learning about the local cuisine, cooking with the women and learning the different dishes has given me great joy, I don't seem to have born with the chapatti gene (mine don't turn out perfectly round!) but I love practicing and eating all the experiments of course!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We need help with gardening, building, cleaning and language practice

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Hindi: Grundkenntnisse
    Japanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    In exchange for 5 hours/day 5 days/week we can provide food and a lovely sleeping room with spacious shared veranda and detached bathroom with hot shower, toilet and sink.

    Meals are generally served 2 x / day - roughly around 10am and 7pm
    Meals consist of grains, beans and vegetables, local as much as possible.
    The family sometimes eat meat but are mostly vegetarian.

    When I cook I prepare local style Indian dishes and occasionally meals that are more European.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In order to reach us you need to first arrive in Delhi. From Delhi you can take a deluxe volvo bus (12 hours) and then a taxi for about 1.5 hours. Alternatively you can fly to Bhuntar and from there it is just a 2 - 2.5 hour taxi ride to reach us.

    If you decide to come work with us I will be happy to help you with your travel arrangements.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 874245171864