Visit our artists retreat on the west coast of Scotland, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 394 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Karen and I am a working designer, artist and printmaker, selling work through Scotland and putting on exhibitions. I also run residential art holidays in the Spring and Autumn from my home/studio

    I love to cook and have been a wallpaper designer and manufacturer most of my life. I originally trained as an architect and have a great love of old buildings. The house that I live in mostly by myself has been an ongoing project for me, to renovate and redecorate.

    Originally a very large hunting lodge for a whisky distiller the house was divided into four sections in the 1950's. I am lucky to have the central section containing all the main rooms and five bedrooms, large studio and a huge live-in kitchen with an Aga style stove and all modern appliances.

    My daughter is an upholsterer and upcycles furniture and industrial equipment and lives near by. We both have online rental people staying most weeks and have a holiday cottage in the Bellanoch Yacht Basin near on the Crinan Canal.

    There is always a lot going on, we never seem to be without a long list of projects and jobs to do.

    This is a happy house that loves people and we have good parties.

    I need help with the housework, garden and up cycling projects. All Workaways are welcome to use the studio if they wish.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is a beautiful part of Scotland and is close to Islay which is known for its whisky. There are surfing beaches and kayaking opportunities. Lots of walking and gorgeous scenery for artists and painters.

    Tarbert is the local village which has a lots going on including a host of various festivals during the Summer. There are cafes and pubs many of which host bands year round. The people are friendly and hospitable and there would be many opportunities for cultural exchanges.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The is large and the garden is an old walled garden so would value some help. The major task that I need help with is the garden and also a few jobs around the house. The garden is an acre and I have only tamed half of it so lots of work need to make it beautiful. I have a ride on mower and a greenhouse.

    Gardening - removing small trees and extending the vegetable garden, and bonfires. Mowing, trimming and planting new shrubs, and basic landscaping. The front garden needs some shrubs clearing and some grass seeded or turfed.

    General Maintenance. - A fair amount of decorating - including inside and outside of the house and veranda.
    Help in the house - general house cleaning, hoovering and cleaning windows inside - laying a fire - cleaning bathrooms.
    Art project - I am happy to share techniques with those who are interested.

    My daughter and I may also need help renovating furniture.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Italienisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private bedroom with a double bed or twin room and a shared (from time to time ) bathroom. I would supply the meals and accommodation including laundry. I like to cook, but would be happy to share this task occasionally and also learn another countiries cuisine.

    There is a wonderful large kitchen with an a AGA and all modern conveniences, including a dishwasher.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The house is 0.5 miles up a farm track which is a turning off the A83 main road to Campbeltown. There are regular buses to Tarbert / Lochgilphead / Inveraray / Glasgow and Campbeltown.

    The house that I live in is a part of a much larger house which was divided in four sections in the 1950's with five families living fairly close together (one in a new house on the old tennis court).

    People are always coming and going and there would be opportunities to hitch a ride with some of them when they are travelling to local places. I have to say that most people here are retired but they have a varied social life with friends, and family visiting quite often.

    The local community is mostly farming and fishing, but there are many people are involved in the tourist business and yachting as there is a large marina in Tarbert.

    I have lived here for 10 years and have built up a circle of friends many of whom are artists.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    As long as they are good with my cat

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)












Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 874215245596